Nursing and Physician Assistant Resources

PubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online.

Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946-present

This is Ovid’s search interface to the MEDLINE database. See the information on PubMed above. MEDLINE is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946-present

References and abstracts on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based care sheets.Coverage: 1982-

Elsevier Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE.Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)

The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Subject Area Nodes: Evidence organized into health care area/specialties. Only information specific to that health topic is included in each database. Ovid recommends you use Basic Search when searching this database.

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]

SPORTDiscus is the world's leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.
[Coverage: 1800-present]

Provides access to the content from three Thomson Reuters ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.Coverage: 1900-present [Science 1899-, Social Sciences 1900-, Arts & Humanities 1975-]

A collection of databases containing the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and information about the Cochrane Collaboration

HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests.Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.Coverage: 1840-present

Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy – journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.Coverage: 1972-present

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations (for non-UC dissertations provides free access to 20% of the document, and allows purchase of remaining content). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million open access international graduate theses and dissertations. Metadata from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

“Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases – the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB Abstracts. Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.”

UpToDate is a point-of-care clinical medicine database, providing coverage of over 8500 topics in 17 medical specialties. UpToDate integrates drug information (Lexi-Comp) and clinical images (Visual Dx). Includes medical calculators.

ProQuest Statistical Insight combines Index and abstract records previously available from print indexes: American Statistics Index (ASI) from 1973, and Index to International Statistics (IIS)from 1980. ProQuest Statistical Insight enables searching indexes and tables for statistics produced by the U.S. government and major international organizations. The database includes some statistical tables as well as abstracts, or summaries, of statistical publications. The Library has many of the publications indexed in print or electronic format.

Relevant to nursing for informatics-related issues such as the technical aspects of the EMR, decision support applications, etc. Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature (including computer science and informatics), containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Coverage: 1884-present

The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward. Coverage: 1966-present

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles