Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Reference materials are intended to help you get started with a basic overview of a topic and are often presented in the form of encyclopedias or dictionaries that provide 'further reading,' or 'see also' sections with bibliographies to connect you to additional information resources on your topic.
Reference sources will help you to:
- gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
- identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
- connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic
Recommended:
Encyclopedia of Cell BiologyPublication Date: 2015Offers a broad overview of cell biology with fully annotated figures, abundant illustrations, videos, and references for further reading.
Molecular Life Sciences An Encyclopedic ReferencePublication Date: 2020Handbook of Molecular Life Sciences will focus on understanding biological phenomena at the level of molecules and their interactions that govern life processes.
Brenner's Encyclopedia of GeneticsPublication Date: 2014Provides short entries that briefly define key terms, and a guide to additional reading and relevant websites for further study. Many of the entries include figures to explain difficult concepts. Key terms in related areas such as biochemistry, cell, and molecular biology are also included.
Encyclopedia of Biological ChemistryPublication Date: 2021Helps to define and explore contemporary biochemistry, understanding that every living process from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.
Comprehensive BiophysicsPublication Date: 2012Provides definitive introductions to the physical techniques for studying macromolecular structure to protein folding, muscle and molecular motors, cell biophysics, and bioenergetics.
Encyclopedia of ImmunobiologyPublication Date: 2016topics covered is relevant to a wide range of scientists working on experimental and clinical immunology, microbiology, biochemistry, genetics, veterinary science, physiology, and hematology.
