Images and 3D Models
- Visible Body Suite (Formerly Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive 3D visual images atlas of the human body. Structures from nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive systems. Microanatomy of tissue and special organs, including the eye, ear, and tongue. Muscle movements demonstrated in rotatable moving 3D models. Compare models side-by-side with cadaver images and diagnostic images. Includes detailed medical definitions, descriptions of injuries, diseases, and pathologies, and a question test bank for quizzing and improving anatomy mastery.
To access this electronic resource, please sign up for an account with your ucdavis email and then sign in from an authorized UCD IP address.
View the Visible Body Privacy Policy.
Overview and Help Using Visible Body Suite
- Open Access Biomedical Image Search EngineOpen-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.
- Cell Image Library
Funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health, this Image Library is a repository for images and movies of cells from a variety of organisms. It demonstrates cellular architecture and functions with high quality images, videos, and animations.
Video & Film Resources
- JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A library of scientific videos that teach key concepts and fundamental techniques through visual demonstrations. Platform interface includes: JoVE Core (video textbooks), JoVE Lab Manual. Subject areas include: behavior, biochemistry, bioengineering, biology, cancer research, chemistry, developmental biology, engineering, environment, genetics, immunology and infection, medicine, neuroscience.
Interactive Digital Tools
Interactive content includes simulations, virtual labs, and tutorials:
- Browse by topic:
Interactive content includes 3-D models, virtual labs, and tutorials:
- Browse by topic:
The PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
- Browse by topic: