Latin American Studies

Series 1  The life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.
[Coverage: 19th century - 20th century]

The collection contains full text 19th - 21st century poetry, fiction and non-fiction written by authors from throughout the Caribbean. Included are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages, in addition to works published by authors who have relocated to North America. The database currently has over 63,000 pages; new content is added biweekly.
[Coverage: 18th - 21st Centuries]

This full-text collection consists of the Confidential Print for Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean. Topics covered include slavery and the slave trade, immigration, relations with indigenous peoples, wars and territorial disputes, the fall of the Brazilian monarchy, British business and financial interests, industrial development, the building of the Panama Canal, and the rise to power of populist rulers such as Perón in Argentina and Vargas in Brazil.

The series originated out of a need to preserve important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Collections include newspapers, photographs, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official historical documents, and historic and contemporary maps.

The collection contains 300 plays and more than 100,000 pages of poetry and prose written by Latin American women authors from 19 countries. Spanning a period from the colonial era to the present day, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials are available full-text in their original language.

LILACS covers literature related to the health sciences and has been published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982, and is published by WHO Regional Offices. It contains articles from about 670 of the most well-known journals in the medicine field, plus other documents such as: theses, books, conference proceedings, scientific reports and governmental publications.

"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere."