Current News Sources
Resources here include collections of current newspapers followed by major individual papers licensed by UC Davis. Historic newspapers as well as topic-specific news resources (e.g. business, energy) are listed in those subjects' guides. For a comprehensive list of online newspapers licensed by UC Davis, see the Newspapers subject guide.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text from more than 335 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
- Nexis Uni (Formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. - New York Times - Current Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCurrent full-text of the New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review).
[Coverage: 1980-present] - NYTimes.com This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Includes archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access to the archives is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note: First time users must create a NYT account to gain access; accounts will need to be reactivated on an annual basis.
- To activate access:
- Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
- Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of California, Davis – Davis, CA.”
- Step 3: Click “Create Account” and complete the registration fields
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, go through Steps 1 and 2 and then click the “Already have an account? Log in here” link (below the “Create Account” button) in Step 3. Mobile login setup, download any NYT app from the App Store and use same login credentials for unlimited access. Login to NYTimes.com directly from any location.
[Coverage: 1851-present] - Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
- Los Angeles Times (1985-current) This link opens in a new windowCurrent full-text content of the Los Angeles Times.
[Coverage: 1985-present] - Sacramento Bee This link opens in a new windowSearch and retrieve full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1985 through the previous day. Excludes advertisements and graphics.
[Coverage: 1985-present] - Wall Street Journal - Current Newspapers This link opens in a new windowCurrent full-text content of the Wall Street Journal.
[Coverage: 1985-present] - Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe Chronicle of Higher Education is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty, researchers, staff and administrators.
[Coverage: 1989 - present]
Historical Newspapers
Here are links to historical newspapers lists in other guides.
English-language Asian newspapers are listed on the Primary Source Collections page of the History of Asia Guide.
And collections of Historic papers from Latin America, African and South Asia are included in the World Newspaper Archive