History of Great Britain and Ireland

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The present digital collection provides nearly 1 million pages from approximately 1,270 titles of newspapers, news pamphlets, and newsbooks of the period. They were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for more than 160 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

The Economist Historical Archive (EHA) is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.. This resource includes overlapping years of the Manchester and London Guardian newspapers, as well as the London Observer.

"The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. . . Since 1902, the TLS has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers, offering comprehensive coverage of the most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions."

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.

This newspaper is among a group of resources that are licensed on an annual basis. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UC Davis library collections based on interest and use.