News, Newsreels and Magazines
Resources in this box are listed by relevance and chronology.
- Pravda Digital Archive 1912-2009 This link opens in a new window"Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation."
[Coverage: 1912-2009] - Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War This link opens in a new window"These magazines were written by and for every type of unit from every combatant nation. As such they contain the hitherto unheard voices of hundreds of thousands of men and women writing from every facet of the conflict. . . Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America. This collection contains over 1,500 trench journal titles sourced from leading archives around the world including those of the Imperial War Museums and The British Library."
- March of Time This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.
[Coverage: 1903-1967]
- Historic Italian and Other European Journals and Newspapers OnlineBanche Dati di Periodici Disponibile On Line
This is an Italian language list of and links to (mostly)European journal and newspaper collections digitized by libraries and other institutions. It is especially useful for Italian publications.
- Google Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowGoogle has a growing collection of digitized historic and contemporary newspapers mostly from the U.S. and Canada. It's hard to know exactly what is included, but this link goes to the alphabetical list of papers including the years covered and number of issues scanned.