Key Resources for Hydrology
This guide covers all aspects of hydrology including: hydrology, hydrogeology, earth system processes, and water policy and management.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating hydrology literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in Hydrology requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since hydrology is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
[Original Content by Cory Craig, Jennifer (JJ) Harbster, and Carol La Russa]
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Subject coverage areas include: areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Water Resources Abstracts, Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests, and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present]
- WATERnetBASECollection of nearly 900 books providing “expert advice on groundwater, harbor, lake, and wastewater management. The e-references contained in this collection consider the characteristics and behavior of water from engineering, agricultural, biological, and environmental perspectives, and explore solutions from around the world.”
- USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new windowThe USGS Publications Warehouse contains: Full text and maps for over 40,000 USGS publications, citations for over 70,000 USGS publications, and USGS numbered series from as early as 1880. Biological series released by the Fish and Wildlife Service and National Biological Survey prior to creation of the Biological Resources Division in USGS are included in this database. Non-USGS series publications authored by USGS employees are currently NOT included.
[Coverage: 1880-present]