Research Guides: Hydrology: Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

The UC Davis Data Lab provides Research Data Services and is happy to assist with your data questions. See this extensive resource webpage:

Research Data Services

Below are specific data resources and tools including some that are directly related to ecology and conservation biology.

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes research data sets and data studies from a wide range of international data repositories in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Discover research data connected to articles published in journals, books, and conference proceedings. Links directly to data repositories for easy access to the deposited data sets. Includes two disciplinary sections: Science (1900-present); Social Sciences & Humanities (1900-present).
[Coverage: 1900 - current]
Dryad This link opens in a new window
Dryad is an open-source, research data curation and publication platform. UC Davis is a proud partner of Dryad and offers Dryad as a free service for all UC Davis researchers to publish and archive their data. Datasets published in Dryad receive a citation and can be versioned at any time. Dryad is integrated with hundreds of journals and is an easy way to both publish data and comply with funder and publisher mandates.
JDAP (Joint Data Archiving Policy)
DataONE (Data Observation Network for Earth) This link opens in a new window
DataONE serves "as a distributed framework and sustainable cyberinfrastructure that meets the needs of science and society for open, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and easily discovered Earth observational data." Supported by the U.S. National Science Foundation, DataONE ensures "the preservation and access to multi-scale, multi-discipline, and multi-national science data." DataONE transcends "domain boundaries and makes biological data available from the genome to the ecosystem; makes environmental data available from atmospheric, ecological, hydrological, and oceanographic sources; provides secure and long-term preservation and access; and engages scientists, land-managers, policy makers, students, educators, and the public through logical access and intuitive visualizations."

NEON (National Ecological Observatory Network Inc.)
NEON collects “data across the United States on the impacts of climate change, land use change and invasive species on natural resources and biodiversity. NEON is a project of the U.S. National Science Foundation, with many other U.S. agencies and NGOs cooperating.”

NEON is “the first observatory network of its kind designed to detect and enable forecasting of ecological change at continental scales over multiple decades.” The data NEON collects is freely and openly available to all users.
Global Runoff Database
Global database of river discharge data from the Global Runoff Data Center which is an International data center operating under the auspices of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO).
National Water Model
The National Water Model (NWM) is a hydrologic model that simulates observed and forecast streamflow for the continental United States.
How’s My Waterway [Incorporates Surf Your Watershed]
Data for watersheds from the EPA searchable by geographic location.
USGS Streamer
Visualize water flow through major streams in the United States by tracing them upstream to their source or downstream to where they empty.
Water Data
Data tables from The World’s Water series published by the Pacific Institute.
USGS Water Data for the Nation
These pages provide access to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.9 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. Online access to this data is organized around the categories listed to the left. The USGS investigates the occurrence, quantity, quality, distribution, and movement of surface and underground waters and disseminates the data to the public, State and local governments, public and private utilities, and other Federal agencies involved with managing our water resources.”

Hydrology

Datasets, Data Series, Data Repositories, Data Systems

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact: