Additional History of Science Resources
- Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new windowThe Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts with information on over 150 million species names.
- Database of Scientific Illustrators, 1450-1950 This link opens in a new windowThe aim of DSI is to provide quick and reliable reference information about scientific illustrators from the invention of the printing press to 1950. Click the Browse DSI link to begin. It is a project by the Section for History of Science & Technology (Abteilung fur Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften und Technik, GNT) at the History Dept. at the University of Stuttgart.
- Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes the COMPLETE DICTIONARY OF SCIENTIFIC BIOGRAPHY--This version incorporates all the entries from the original and revised editions..
and the ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SCIENCE AND RELIGION--This encyclopedia uses a multidisciplinary approach to address all aspects of the dialogues between the sciences and the world's religions.; - Lyell Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals and book series from the Geological Society of London. Includes Special Publications, Engineering Geology, Geological Society Memoirs, and Petroleum Geology Conferences.
[Coverage: 1811-present]
- History of Science in Latin America and the CaribbeanHOSLAC is a free database of 200+ primary sources (mostly images) on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each image is accompanied by a brief essay that places it in its historical context. Thematic groups of images are also introduced by essays. HOSLAC was produced at the University of New Hampshire with funding from the NSF.
- History of Science in the Unted States: Research Aids for the Nineteenth CenturyAlthough this site has not been updated in more than a decade, this set of bibliographies of books, dissertations and primary source materials gathered over decades by Historian/Archivist Clark Elliott remains an invaluable starting place for research in this field. It also includes his essay, “Antebellum American Science: A Thematic (and Somewhat Bibliographic Review).”
- Science in the Nineteenth Century Periodical This link opens in a new windowThis is a searchable index to the science-related content of sixteen general interest British periodicals published in the Nineteenth Century. (It does not index all the content of these periodicals). The index "includes a range of distinct periodical genres intended for widely differing audiences. We have thus indexed radical, religious, and comic periodicals, and titles intended for women and children, in addition to more familiar reviews, miscellanies, and literary magazines."