Research Guides: History of Science, Medicine and Technology: Additional History of Medicine Resources

Additional History of Medicine Resources

Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/Latinorum - Editionen This link opens in a new window
The Corpus Medicorum Graecorum (CMG) presents the extant writings of all Greek physicians from the 5th century BC to the end of classical antiquity, including early Byzantine handbooks and commentaries on ancient authors, in historical-critical editions. The Corpus Medicorum Latinorum (CML) presents the extant writings of all Latin medical authors from the 1st to the 5th century AD in historical-critical editions. The Supplementum to the Corpus Medicorum Graecorum publishes collections of Greek medical writings which have survived only in fragmentary form. The Supplementum Orientale to the Corpus Medicorum Graecorum presents historical-critical editions of Arabic translations of Greek medical texts which have not survived in the original Greek.
History of Medicine, National Library of Medicine This link opens in a new window
NLM historical collections include selected digitized material relating to the history of medicine. Chosen from the manuscripts and books collections, the prints and photographs collection, historical films and videos, current and past exhibitions, and the Digital Manuscripts Program, these digitized materials cover a spectrum of centuries and cultures from medieval Islam to contemporary biomedical research.
Medical Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Consists of open access quality historical resources in medicine. Contains rare books and historic American medical journals, including nearly 50 State Medical Society journals. Database contains primary source sets and reference covering topics such as Anti-Black Racism in Medicine, Disability Studies (Disability; Disability, Music Technology, and Education, and Disability Technologies), Influenza, LGBTQUIA+, Tuberculosis, and the History of Vaccines.

Note: Closure of the Medical Heritage Library effective June 30, 2024.
Wellcome Collection Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The library catalog of one of the premiere collections in the history of medicine which includes an option to search only among the digitized images of objects in their collections which cover a broad variety of subjects associated with the history of medicine.

Wellcome Witnesses to Twentieth Century Medicine
The volumes in this series contain transcripts of the Witness Seminars at which significant figures in twentieth-century medicine are invited to discuss specific discoveries or events in recent medical history. All papers and records collected during the organization of the meetings and editing of the transcripts are deposited in Archives and Manuscripts, Wellcome Library, London, in collection GC/253.” All volumes are freely available here as PDF downloads.

A few of the topics covered are:
Technology Transfer in Britain: The Case of Monoclonal Antibodies
Self and Non-Self: History of Autoimmunity:
Endogenous Opiates
Early heat transplant surgery in the UK
Looking at the Unborn: Historical aspects of obstetric ultrasound.
British Contributions to Medical Research and Education in Africa after the Second World War