History of Science, Medicine and Technology

A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.

Please note: The British Library is experiencing a major technology outage as a result of a cyber-attack. Access may be limited or unavailable at this time.

Direct access to several million digital objects: film, photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers. Selected from previously digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections.  French and German cultural institutions are particularly well represented.

One of the world's most advanced digital library collections, providing online access to millions of books, periodicals, images, videos, maps, sound files, manuscripts, and scores. Searchable in basic or advanced modes, and browsable by publication type. Originally an attempt to provide coverage of the Bibliotheque Nationale's vast holdings in French literature from the Middle Ages to the present, it now has digital access partnerships with a number of other major library collections substantially increasing its offerings. Includes links to other relevant sites.

Information and access to the contents of 48 national libraries in Europe.

The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes large online collections of moving images, music and audio recordings.

The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. It includes searchable finding aids for collections held in these institutions as well as a large selection of scanned images and documents from these collections.

ArchiveGrid is a database designed specifically for locating archival collections held in libraries, museums and other institutions. It combines all the archival records in WorldCat with others pulled from various archives’ Web sites. Included are all of the item records added to the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) after 1987, as well as many records from earlier years. (NUCMC includes records added before 1987, especially of smaller archives, that are not found in ArchiveGrid.)

The U.S. National Archives have scanned a significant portion of their holdings, including still and moving images on a wide assortment of topics. Set the search limit option to select "Archival Materials Online" in order to restrict your search to these digitized items. For a broader search of the holdings of the National Archives, remove all search limits.

“The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.”

“The Archives Hub enables you to search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 institutions across the UK. “