Forensic Science

ONLINE currently inaccessible - a related print version (Forensic Science: An Illustrated Dictionary) is available at Shields Library at Call number HV 8073 .B68 2004

2017. John C. Brenner. “In forensics, there is often a difficulty conveying critical scientific terms to investigators, attorneys, juries, and even court reporters. Forensic Science Glossary is a single source reference that contains the spelling and definitions of commonly used terms found in forensic environments. This glossary of words and their meanings covers important areas of forensic science, including the relevant toxicology, documents, drug chemistry, criminalistics, ballistics, and DNA analysis. It is the first forensic glossary to integrate such a wide variety of topics.”

2013 (2nd ed.) Jay A. Siegel. This 4-volume set about “Forensic science includes all aspects of investigating a crime, including: chemistry, biology and physics, and also incorporates countless other specialties. Today, the service offered under the guise of "forensic science’ includes specialties from virtually all aspects of modern science, medicine, engineering, mathematics and technology. … inform[s] both the crime scene worker and the laboratory worker of each other’s protocols, procedures and limitations.”

2020 (3rd ed.) Richard Saferstein, et al, eds. “This two-volume series focuses on the legal, evidentiary, biological, and chemical aspects of forensic science practice. The topics covered in this new edition of Volume I include a broad range of subjects including: Legal aspects of forensic science; Analytical instrumentation - microspectrophotometry, infrared Spectroscopy, gas chromatography, liquid chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, and mass spectrometry; Trace evidence characterization of hairs, dust, paints and inks; Identification of body fluids and human DNA . This is an update of a classic reference series and will serve as a must-have desk reference for forensic science practitioners.”

2011. Jonathan P. Wyatt. “Forensic medicine covers an amazing range of different subjects and no single individual can expect to be an expert in all of them. The Oxford Handbook of Forensic Medicine provides comprehensive coverage of all areas within this complex discipline. Written for specialists and non-specialists alike, it will appeal to practising forensic scientists, as well as lawyers, police officers, and forensic science students. It shows how forensic medicine has been used in specific casesenabling the reader to apply their knowledge in real life.”

2021. Chaudhery Mustansar Hussain. “Handbook of Analytical Techniques for Forensic Samples: Current and Emerging Developments discusses in detail the current trends and latest analytical techniques and methods commonly employed in forensic analysis in order to ensure the proper facilitation of justice. This book is useful for readers who wish to stay updated on the latest trends in the forensic analysis of samples encountered at crime scenes. Technological advancements, such as biosensors, nanotechnology, and taggant technology have upped the level of analysis in forensic science. These emergent technologies, incorporated with existing analytical techniques, are leading to more precise, accurate, and specific examination of forensic samples. Lab-on-a-chip technology has also eased several kinds of on-site analyses done by investigating teams at different types of crime scenes. This book covers the evolution of forensic sample analysis as well as these emerging trends and new technologies.”

2010. John M. Butler. “Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing walks students step-by-step through the DNA analysis process beginning with collection of evidence at a crime scene to the statistical interpretation of the results. Also included are brief discussions of such news worthy topics as victim identification from the September 11, 2001 attacks, the identification of the remains of the Romano vs, the last Russian Royal family, and the O.J. Simpson case. New applications, such as genetic genealogy and tracing domestic pet hairs to perpetrators, are also detailed. With its clear and understandable style and extensive list of online ancillaries and study aids, this textbook will make the subject accessible to students in forensic science courses worldwide. Includes a glossary with over 400 terms for quick reference of unfamiliar terms as well as an acronym guide to decipher the DNA dialect …”

2021 (2nd ed.) Cristoforo Pomara et al, eds. “Forensic and Clinical Forensic Autopsy: An Atlas and Handbook, Second Edition, provides a step-by-step, photo-assisted guide illustrating the complete autopsy, from pre- through post-autopsy procedures.

All too often, forensic pathologists perform autopsies that are limited only to the body parts that are suspected, leading to biased and inaccurate results. A correct diagnosis for cause of death can only be reached by a strict and systematic examination of the whole body. The chapters of this book look at external cadaver examiner, organ removal methods, laboratory procedures, including recording and imaging techniques, microscopy applications, pediatric and fetal autopsies, and checking for genetic disease and DNA diagnosis. New chapters and sections to this edition cover histology and immunohistochemistry, in addition to the added coverage on forensic anthropology and molecular autopsy.”

2016 (2nd ed.) Charles A. Cantonese. “ … best-selling Color Atlas of Forensic Medicine and Pathology is an easy-to-read reference covering forensic pathology principles, from basic to advanced concepts relating to all manners of death. Featuring over 1600 full-color images, including 400 more photographs than the first edition, this book provides unparalleled photographic illustration to enhance understanding for medical and non-medically trained personnel.“