Key Resources for Forensic Science
Welcome to the UC Davis Library guide to forensic science which provides links to key information resources in this subject area. It describes and provides links to various types of content to locate including articles, e-books & dissertations, government information & statistics, methods & protocols, as well as to key resources such as encyclopedias and handbooks.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating forensic science literature.
PLEASE NOTE: Comprehensive literature searching in Forensic Science requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since Forensic Science is a highly interdisciplinary discipline, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
-
FORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASECollection of more than 900 books. “Featuring works by esteemed criminologists and forensic practitioners, this unparalleled e-library boasts an ever-growing number of essential references on crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, forensic pathology and toxicology, and cyber crime. This invaluable product is well suited to the needs of the smallest of sheriff’s departments and the largest of governmental law enforcement agencies, such as the DEA, FBI, and Interpol.”
-
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] -
PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present]
What to do if PubMed is inaccessible?
The following are UC Davis Library database backups if PubMed - U.S. Government database produced by NLM – National Library of Medicine which is an Institute of the National Institutes of Health - becomes inaccessible. Note that MEDLINE is the core from which the PUBlic version of MEDLINE (PubMed) is produced. These MEDLINE backups are listed in order of ease of use:
* MEDLINE – available through the Web of Science search platform
* Ovid MEDLINE – available via the Ovid search platform
* Embase – incorporates MEDLINE into this European medical database
-
MEDLINE (via Web of Science)MEDLINE® (1950-present) The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database. Search MEDLINE to explore biomedicine and life sciences, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. Search precisely with MeSH terms and CAS registry numbers. You can also link to NCBI databases and PubMed Related Articles.
-
Ovid MEDLINE This link opens in a new windowThe Ovid interface to MEDLINE.Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. MEDLINE is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
[Coverage: 1948-present] -
Embase This link opens in a new windowEmbase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE. Broad biomedical scope covering the following areas:
Drug therapy and research, including pharmaceutics, pharmacology and toxicology
Clinical and experimental (human) medicine
Basic biological science relevant to human medicine
Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
Veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing
Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse
Forensic science
Alternative and complementary medicine
[Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)]
