It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of evolutionary biology. Articles range from adaptation to tetrapod evolution including “genome sequencing and evolutionary developmental biology”. As the Editor in Chief notes, this field is changing rapidly being at the “nexus of two developments, which jointly allow an understanding of evolutionary processes never before possible. First is the ability to sequence entire genomes, and second is the means to study natural populations over long periods of time.” The Evolutionary Biology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.
See the list of Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UC Davis subscribes at https://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/
2013. Edited by Michael Ruse. This encyclopedia “ is a comprehensive reference work on the life, labors and influence of the great evolutionist Charles Darwin. With more than sixty essays written by an international group representing the leading scholars in the field, this is the definitive work on Darwin. It covers the background to Darwin's discovery of the theory of evolution through natural selection, the work he produced and his contemporaries' reactions to it, and evaluates his influence on science in the 150 years since the publication of On the Origin of Species. It also explores the implications of Darwin's discoveries in religion, politics, gender, literature, culture, philosophy and medicine, critically evaluating Darwin's legacy. Fully illustrated and clearly written, it is suitable for scholars and students as well as the general reader. The wealth of information it provides about the history of evolutionary thought makes it a crucial resource for understanding the controversies that surround evolution today.”
2011. Sehoya Cotner et al. “
This comprehensive encyclopedia presents an arsenal of evidence for evolution that goes beyond the typical textbook examples.
Contents include: Understanding the natural world: evolution and the process of science -- Age of earth -- Fossils -- Biogeography -- Molecular evidence foe evolution -- Anatomical evidence for evolution -- Conflict and cooperation pt. I: behavior -- Conflict and cooperation pt. II: coevolution -- Human evolution.”
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Evolution
2016. Bernhard Grzimek. “Covers evolution in detail and explores it from a scientific viewpoint. Includes comprehensive coverage of recent ideas and discoveries in the field of evolution. Presents information, research, and discoveries on a variety of topics related to evolutionary processes and mechanisms, discussing the origins of life on Earth, genetics, sexual selection, artificial selection, and other related topics.”
2019. Edited by Brian D. Fath. Four-volume set with over 500 contributors covering the following:
“Volume 1. Aquatic ecology ; Behavioral ecology ; Conservation ecology ; Ecological complexity -- volume 2. Ecological data analysis and modeling ; Ecological processes ; Ecosystems -- volume 3. Evolutionary ecology ; General ecology -- volume 4. Global change ecology ; Human ecology and sustainability ; Terrestrial and Landscape ecology.”
2004. Daniel Pauly. This “ encyclopaedia of ichthyology, ecology and evolution … [is] based upon everything that Charles Darwin ever wrote about fish. Entries are arranged alphabetically and can be about, for example, a particular fish taxon, an anatomical part, a chemical substance, a scientist, a place, or an evolutionary or ecological concept. The reader can start wherever they like and are then led by a series of cross-references on a fascinating voyage of interconnected entries, each indirectly or directly connected with original writings from Darwin himself. Along the way, the reader is offered interpretation of the historical material put in the context of both Darwin's time and that of contemporary biology and ecology. This book is intended for anyone interested in fishes, the work of Charles Darwin, evolutionary biology and ecology, and natural history in general.”
2nd edition (2017). Edited by Simon A. Levin. “… this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates.”
2020. Edited by Michael I. Goldstein et al. Five-volume set covering the “global synthesis of biomes … All of the book's chapters follow a common thematic order that spans biodiversity importance, principal anthropogenic stressors and trends, changing climatic conditions, and conservation strategies for maintaining biomes in an increasingly human-dominated world.”
2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”
2014. Edited by Johnathan B. Losos. A “comprehensive, concise, and authoritative reference to the major subjects and key concepts in evolutionary biology, from genes to mass extinctions. Edited by a distinguished team of evolutionary biologists, with contributions from leading researchers, the guide contains some 100 clear, accurate, and up-to-date articles on the most important topics in seven major areas: phylogenetics and the history of life; selection and adaptation; evolutionary processes; genes, genomes, and phenotypes; speciation and macroevolution; evolution of behavior, society, and humans; and evolution and modern society. Complete with more than 100 illustrations (including eight pages in color), glossaries of key terms, suggestions for further reading on each topic, and an index …”
2020. David M. Williams et al. This “foundational text presents a contemporary review of cladistics, as applied to biological classification. It provides a comprehensive account of the past fifty years of discussion on the relationship between classification, phylogeny and evolution. It covers cladistics in the era of molecular data, detailing new advances and ideas that have emerged over the last twenty-five years. Written in an accessible style by internationally renowned authors in the field, readers are straightforwardly guided through fundamental principles and terminology. Simple worked examples and easy-to-understand diagrams also help readers navigate complex problems that have perplexed scientists for centuries.”
Started in 2010, the entire journal is dedicated to protocols, field methods and “promotes the development of new methods in ecology & evolution, and facilitates their dissemination and uptake by the research community.”
2015. Edited by Bernard Wood et al. This dictionary “contains upwards of 2500 entries, all drafted with an eye on the student user.” Details the exponential growth of the “fossil record .. [new] imaging techniques …, [new] quantitative methods … and [new] molecular biology [which] has revolutionized our understanding of genetics, evolutionary history, and development. Added to this are advances in the archeological, biological, and earth sciences that help interpret the context of the fossil evidence and reconstruct behavior.”
Fifth edition (2015). Edited by Michael Allaby. Oxford Reference Library. Classic, comprehensive dictionary covering “all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology.”