Evolutionary Biology

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global biodiversity commons. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts with information on over 150 million species names.

A repository of scanned books contributed from academic institutions across the United States, including UC campuses, and those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Books still in copyright are scanned and searchable, but the full text scans will not become available online until their copyright expires. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. For additional details, see the HathiTrust Help Page.

Provides complete transcriptions of all Charles Darwin’s known correspondence up to 1869. The letters are arranged thematically, but are also searchable based on key words and dates. The site provides guides for using the archive for various courses, an interactive timeline, and information on Darwin’s correspondents. Contains text of over 15,000 letters exchanged with nearly 2000 correspondents around the world between 1821 and Darwin's death in 1882. Letters were obtained from the Darwin Archive in Cambridge and from other from libraries and private collections.