Working with Reference Sources
Reference materials are intended to help you get started with a basic overview of a topic and are often presented in the form of encyclopedias or dictionaries that provide 'further reading,' or 'see also' sections with bibliographies to connect you to additional information resources on your topic.
Reference sources will help you to:
- gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
- identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
- connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic
Recommended:
- Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences Reference CollectionThis online Reference Collection forms the definitive source for those entering, researching or teaching in any of the many disciplines making up this interdisciplinary area of study. This resource is designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences.
Encyclopedia of BiodiversityPublication Date: 2013Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.
Encyclopedia of Environmental HealthPublication Date: 2019
Handbook of EcotoxicologyPublication Date: 2003Focuses on toxic substances and how they affect ecosystems worldwide. It presents methods for quantifying and measuring ecotoxicological effects in the field and in the lab, as well as methods for estimating, predicting, and modeling in ecotoxicology studies.
Understanding Environmental PolicyPublication Date: 2014Real-world case examples involving leaks in underground storage tanks, toxic waste cleanup, and the effects of global climate change, addressing policy solutions to current environmental issues.
Encyclopedia of the World's BiomesPublication Date: 2020Provides a global synthesis of biomes, including the latest science.
