Environmental Science, Policy & Management

Database of vegetation plots, plant community and species data operated by Ecological Society of America’s Panel on Vegetation Classification.

The Nature Conservancy’s central portal for geospatial content. This includes web maps, apps, a map gallery, local initiative portals, conservation data, and other resources.

Provides access to a map library of over 100 high-resolution vector and raster layers. Environmental and natural resources data. Choose your area of interest, browse and select data, customize the format, then review and download.

These maps are based on the new nClimDiv (New Climate Division) dataset which uses daily observations of temperature and precipitation from over 10,000 stations in the U.S. NCEI scientists are using new methodologies to quality control the daily data, summarize the daily data into monthly values, and creating maps to visualize the information.

The EPA maintains open and accessible information through the Environmental Dataset Gateway (EDG).

Activities support the science being conducted in other governmental branches. Primary functions are data analysis, management, inventory, and delivery, particularly for large geochemical and geophysical datasets in geospatial format for USGS science and land management agency use.

A centralized geographic open data portal, which includes authoritative data and applications from a multitude of California state entities. The portal runs on the ESRI ArcGIS Online Hub platform, which provides many tools to access and view data and maps. It also enables users to tap into the broader ESRI ArcGIS Online suite of tools, either with a free public account or with a paid subscription account.

The CADWR Land Use Viewer allows users to easily access both statewide and existing Department of Water Resources (DWR) county land use survey datasets that have been collected over the last 30 years. The Viewer also includes a variety of tools that will allow users to download and analyze land use data.

Mapping tool that helps identify California communities affected by pollution. Uses environmental, health, and socioeconomic information to produce scores for every census tract in the state.

The CalEPA Regulated Site Portal combines data about environmentally regulated facilities and sites throughout California into a single, searchable database.

The Global Resource Information Database - Geneva (GRID-Geneva), is a partnership between the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) and the University of Geneva (UniGe). With a team of 20 Environment Data Scientist, GRID-Geneva main role is to transform data into information and knowledge to support the decision making process related to environmental issues.