English Language & Literature

Early English Books Online contains page images of virtually every work printed, between 1473 and 1700, in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere during this period. Over 146,000 titles, and over 17 million scanned pages of content are available. EEBO begins with the very first book published in English, and draws from four authoritative bibliographical resources: revised versioins of both Pollard & Redgrave’s Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing’s Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700); Thomason Tracts (1640-1661); and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Transcribed texts (TCP I and TCP II) are also included, adding transcriptions to approximately 50% of the texts featured. EEBO also covers texts in more than 30 languages, ranging from Algonquin to Welsh, and incorporates variant editions and multiple copies.
[Coverage: 1450-1700]

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
[Coverage: 1701-1800]

Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863–66, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).

Published by Alexander Street Press, this collection contains more than sixty volumes of lyric poetry written between 1789 and 1832 by fifty-one Scottish women. In addition, the database contains biographical, critical, and contextual information for each poet

A searchable, full-text collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights. The texts, collected between the late 1800s and 1945 are in fifteen different languages and cover four centuries.
[Coverage: 1543-1945]

"The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world." HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. HCPP includes all the "sessional papers" of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics. It also includes the full text from "Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament," from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
[Coverage: 1715-2003/04]

A full-text searchable collection of documents examining the lives of saints. It is an electronic version of the sixty-eight volume series published by the Société des Bollandistes over a period of three hundred years starting in 1643.
[Coverage: 1643-1940]

Offers full, interactive access to scholarly approved editions of great works of literature that are fully annotated for seven literary elements (characters, plot, setting, style, themes/issues, vocabulary, and voice/point of view) and illuminated by artwork and related video clips. Also provides digitized access to Common Core Titles, in keeping with Common Core State Standards in education for Grades 9 through CCR (College and Career Readiness).