Bibliographies & Indices
A bibliographic index is a bibliography intended to help find a publication. Citations are usually listed by author and subject in separate sections, or in a single alphabetical sequence under a system of authorized headings collectively known as controlled vocabulary, developed over time by the indexing service.
Bibliographic index, Wikipedia
Recommended:
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new windowAims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 71 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Also available in the database Literature Online (LION).
[Coverage: 1920-present] - Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Index Online is a retrospective index to over 6,000 popular and scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences in multiple (mostly Western) languages. Additional material added annually. Some full-text included.
[Coverage: 1665-recent] - International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) This link opens in a new windowProvides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
[Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly] - English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) This link opens in a new windowPlease note: The British Library is experiencing a major technology outage as a result of a cyber-attack. Access may be limited or unavailable at this time.
The English Short Title Catalogue is a shared catalog that allows you to discover books, serials, pamphlets, and ephemeral materials published from 1473 through 1800. It includes materials printed within the British Empire in all languages, materials with false imprints claiming publication within the British Empire in all languages, and materials printed outside the British Empire in English. It is the most comprehensive listing of publications associated with Great Britain from this time period. This resource was formerly known as the Eighteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue.
[Coverage: 1473-1800] - Index to English Literary Periodicals (1681-1914) This link opens in a new windowThe English Literary Periodicals series consists of 233 titles published during the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in England. This index covers a portion of the previously unindexed material included in the microform set, English Literary Periodicals. It provides reel numbers to locate works in the microfilm set in the Microcopy Collection AP3 E5 MF.
[Coverage: 1681-1914] - Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 40,000 plays published after 1949 and updated weekly with searching plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, cast type, new editions, translations, plot descriptions and musical requirements.. Plays from Antiquity to contemporary works may be published both separately and in collections/anthologies. Access nearly 900 monologues by playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and others. Related: The print version of Play Index is available for the years 1949-2002 in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, Z5781.P53
[Coverage: 1949-present]
- Victorian Literature - Oxford Bibliographiesstudents and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.