Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and the ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
Each book has a unique call number, which provides an address or location for the item, and also provides valuable information about it, such as the subject, first letter of the author’s last name, and date of publication.
Call numbers appear on the spine of books and in the Library Catalog:
In the LC Classification System for Literature, here is a sampling of how the call number would begin:
P Language and Literature
PN General Literature
PR English Literature
PS American Literature
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Access eBooks online via the databases:
- UC Press eBooks Collection This link opens in a new windowThe University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only. Collection emphasizes social science and humanities.
[Coverage: 1982-2004]
Additional UC Press titles are available via the De Gruyter University Press Library
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles. - Gale ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This platform supports the following Encyclopedias. Encyclopaedia Judaica; Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography; Encyclopedia of Science and Religion; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Buddhism. UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes; Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History; Twayne's Authors Series; Scribner Writers Online Series - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks in over 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. For journals, coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, with some up-to-date dependent on the title. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
- Project Muse e-BooksProject MUSE, a non-profit collaboration between libraries and publishers, is an online database of peer-reviewed academic journals and electronic books.