Ecology & Conservation Biology

An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of ecology. Articles range from agroecology to wildlife ecology including “autoecology, population, community, and ecosystem ecology, the main biomes of the world, as well as articles related to the synthesis of ecology with other disciplines including human ecology … and chemical ecology …” The Ecology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.

2019. Edited by Brian D. Fath. Four-volume set with over 500 contributors covering the following:
“Volume 1. Aquatic ecology ; Behavioral ecology ; Conservation ecology ; Ecological complexity -- volume 2. Ecological data analysis and modeling ; Ecological processes ; Ecosystems -- volume 3. Evolutionary ecology ; General ecology -- volume 4. Global change ecology ; Human ecology and sustainability ; Terrestrial and Landscape ecology.”

2012. Edited by Louis J. Gross and Alan Hastings (UCD Faculty). Provides an “overview of the current state of theoretical ecology through a series of topical entries centered on both ecological and statistical themes. Coverage ranges across scales—from the physiological, to populations, landscapes, and ecosystems. Entries provide an introduction to broad fields such as Applied Ecology, Behavioral Ecology, Computational Ecology, Ecosystem Ecology, Epidemiology and Epidemic Modeling, Population Ecology, Spatial Ecology and Statistics in Ecology. Others provide greater specificity and depth, including discussions on the Allee effect, ordinary differential equations, and ecosystem services. Descriptions of modern statistical and modeling approaches and how they contributed to advances in theoretical ecology are also included.”

2nd edition (2017). Edited by Simon A. Levin. “… this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates.”

2020. Edited by Michael I. Goldstein et al. Five-volume set covering the “global synthesis of biomes … All of the book's chapters follow a common thematic order that spans biodiversity importance, principal anthropogenic stressors and trends, changing climatic conditions, and conservation strategies for maintaining biomes in an increasingly human-dominated world.”

Second edition (2008). Edited by Marlene Weigel. “ … this 3-volume encyclopedia provides "detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy."

2011. Edited by Daniel Simberloff. This work “addresses all aspects of this subject at a global level—including invasions by animals, plants, fungi, and bacteria—in succinct, alphabetically arranged articles. … the volume encompasses fields of study including biology, demography, geography, ecology, evolution, sociology, and natural history. …[includes an] … an appendix of the world’s worst 100 invasive species, a glossary, and more …”

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Second Edition (2014). Edited by Rick Karban (UCD Faculty) et al. “ How to Do Ecology provides nuts-and-bolts advice on organizing and conducting a successful research program. This one-of-a-kind book explains how to choose a research question and answer it through manipulative experiments and systematic observations. Because science is a social endeavor, the book provides strategies for working with other people, including professors and collaborators. It suggests effective ways to communicate your findings in the form of journal articles, oral presentations, posters, and grant and research proposals. The book also includes ideas to help you identify your goals, organize a season of fieldwork, and deal with negative results. In short, it makes explicit many of the unspoken assumptions behind doing good research in ecology and provides an invaluable resource for meaningful conversations between ecologists.”

2016. Edited by Harold E. Mooney et al. Several chapters have UCD faculty contributors. This “reference and sourcebook for California's remarkable ecological abundance provides an integrated assessment of each major ecosystem type - its distribution, structure, function, and management. … Ecosystems of California covers the state from oceans to mountaintops using multiple lenses: past and present, flora and fauna, aquatic and terrestrial, natural and managed. Each chapter evaluates natural processes for a specific ecosystem, describes drivers of change, and discusses how that ecosystem may be altered in the future. This book also explores the drivers of California's ecological patterns and the history of the state's various ecosystems, outlining how the challenges of climate change and invasive species and opportunities for regulation and stewardship could potentially affect the state's ecosystems. The text explicitly incorporates both human impacts and conservation and restoration efforts and shows how ecosystems support human well-being.”

2022. Open access published by the Foundation for Freshwater Research and the Freshwater Biological Association. A “Practitioners' Guide to Improving and Protecting River Health: Focus on Invertebrate Monitoring and Assessment."

2011. Edited by Eric Wolanski. “Comprehensive 12-volume work on all aspects of coastal and estuarine science. Includes chapters as follows:
v. 1. Classification of estuarine and nearshore coastal ecosystems
v. 2. Water and fine sediment circulation
v. 3. Estuarine and coastal geology and geomorphology
v. 4. Geochemistry of estuaries and coasts
v. 5. Biogeochemistry
v. 6. Trophic relationships of coastal and estuarine ecosystems
v. 7. Functioning of ecosystems at the land-ocean interface
v. 8. Human-induced problems (uses and abuses)
v. 9. Estuarine and coastal ecosystem modelling
v. 10. Ecohydrology and restoration
v. 11. Management of estuaries and coasts
v. 12. Ecological economics of estuaries and coasts”

Original content from 1920s+. Comprehensive update with move to online for 2010+.RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories. PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

Fifth edition (2015). Edited by Michael Allaby. Oxford Reference Library. Classic, comprehensive dictionary covering “all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology.”