Research Guides: Ecology & Conservation Biology: Images

Images

The first resource listed below (DIRC) is helpful if you are wanting to use an image that is not clearly indicated as being open-access. Note that most resources from U.S. government agencies (including images) are not copyrighted.

You may also wish to explore collaborative image/photo websites which do not have copyright/royalty restrictions such as Pixabay.

Digital Image Rights Computator (DIRC) [via the Visual Resources Association]
“The DIRC is an interactive decision tree program to help you determine what you need to do to legally use a specific image for a specific purpose. At each stage it has a brief description of the issue at hand as well as links for more detailed discussions of those issues.“

National Digital Library (US Fish & Wildlife Service) This link opens in a new window
Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.
NOAA Photo Library This link opens in a new window
This digital photo collection includes "the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up" NOAA. This "collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun" and "includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. ... The geographic range of NOAA work encompasses polar region to polar region and much of the World's oceans."
Morphbank : Biological Imaging This link opens in a new window
"Morphbank: Biological Imaging is a continuously growing database of images that scientists use for international collaboration, research and education. Images deposited in Morphbank :: Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. The project receives its main funding from the Biological Databases and Informatics program of the National Science Foundation (Grant DBI-0446224). "
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Collection of historic and current photographs, most of the images date from 1995 forward includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics, as well as descriptive captions and source information. Formerly, AP Images. This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images.
[Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present]

Ecology & Conservation Biology

Images

Research Support

Undergraduates and their instructors should contact:

Grad students, post-docs, faculty and researchers should contact: