Historical Maps
- David Rumsey Map Collection Database This link opens in a new windowThis historical map collection has over 75,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionOver 50,000 online map images from the University of Texas’s Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection. Maps are of all sorts, some reflecting current issues others are historical. The site also links to other major map collections.
- California Historic Topographic Map CollectionSpecial Collections at California State University, Chico’s Merriam Library has a fine collection of scanned historic topographic maps of California.
- Mapping Past SocietiesFormerly, the Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations, this site provides "the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. . . .”
- Fire Insurance Maps online (FIMo) - California This link opens in a new windowFire Insurance Maps online (FIMo) is a research portal to find and view high-definition, color Fire Insurance Maps, Real Estate Atlases, Plat Books, and other historical maps showing building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses, and other useful information. UC Davis has licensed the maps for the state of California.