Historical Images
-
1789-1939 L’Histoire par L’ImageThis growing collection of historical images from France is a collaborative project of several academic and cultural institutions and the French government. The images are carefully selected and fully described.
-
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowContains breaking news, feature stories, photographs, graphics and audio clips produced by the AP’s network of award-winning journalists, who operate in more than 250 locations worldwide.
[Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present] -
American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newberry Library, Chicago This link opens in a new windowContains rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork documenting the westward expansion.
[Coverage: 1700s-1950s]
-
Chinese in California, 1850-1925This website offers a topical approach to the material presented in the Chinese in California digital archive.
Visit the Online Archive of California to see a guide to the full collection, including linked digital images:
https://oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt5p3019m2/ -
Forest History Society Photograph CollectionsPhotographs from the first half of the Twentieth Century on a surprisingly wide range of subjects including the San Francisco Earthquake, the Boy Scouts and Farming.
-
Los Angeles Public Library Photo CollectionThis collection contains images from the 1850s to the present, documenting all aspects of life in Southern California, with an emphasis on Los Angeles.
-
NYC Municipal Archives Collections This link opens in a new windowThis extraordinarily rich image database of over 870,000 photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings is divided into 30 distinct collections. Collections are organized in numerous ways; most of them are either by the administrations of city mayors and borough presidents, or by municipal department, or by material or subject type.
[Coverage: 19th century - 20th century]
-
Upper Mississippi Valley Digital Image ArchiveThis is an online collection of 19th and early 20th century photographs of the Mississippi Valley along the Iowa/Illinois border. They are selected from the collections of several libraries, museums and colleges in the area.
-
Wellcome Collection Catalogue This link opens in a new windowThe library catalog of one of the premiere collections in the history of medicine which includes an option to search only among the digitized images of objects in their collections which cover a broad variety of subjects associated with the history of medicine.