Skip to Main Content

Chemical Engineering

Synthesis

Science of Synthesis This link opens in a new window
Science of Synthesis provides an authoritative review of synthetic methods from the early 1800s to the present, for the field of organic and organometallic chemistry. Science of Synthesis is full-text, structure, and reaction searchable. The database also provides links to the primary literature and to related information in the Houben-Weyl electronic archive. All 4 editions, and the supplemental "E-series" volumes, of the Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations are included in Science of Synthesis.
[Coverage: 1800's to present]
Pop-up blockers must be disabled to use Science of Synthesis. Structure searching requires either Java applet capability, or the presence of ChemDraw or ISIS/Draw on the user’s computer.

Short Video Tutorials:
Introducing Science of Synthesis (Simpleshow, 3'01")
Browsing SOS (2'30")
Text Searching (3'11)"
Drawing in SOS (2'00")
Name to Structure (1'20"))
Reaction Searching (1'26")
Uploading ChemDraw Files (1'00")
Filtering Results of Structure Searches (1'14")"
Citation Search (1'35")
MySOS - Your SOS Access from Anywhere (2'14")
Training and Support (1'33")

Print Guides:
Quick Start Guide (8 pages) PDF
Quick Article Search (6 pages) PDF
List of print Science of Synthesis volumes

Organic Syntheses
Also in print: Collective Volumes: Reference QD262 .O72; Annual Volumes (last 5 years): Reference QD262 .O7

Organic Syntheses provides reliable, detailed methods for the preparation of organic compounds. Methods have been evaluated for reproducibility in the laboratory. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds; others illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility.

Online version: is freely available to the public and contains the contents of the entire series, up to one year before the present, searchable by chemical name, CAS Registry Number, other text terms, and by structure or substructure. Requires a Java-capable browser.

Print version: Collective volumes include revised and updated syntheses from annual volumes. There is a cumulative index for the first eight collective volumes.
Inorganic Syntheses
Provides detailed, tested methods for the synthesis of inorganic and organometallic compounds including boranes, synthetic metals, ceramic superconductors, etc. Includes reaction yields and safety information.

Online version: is keyword searchable across the entire series; chapters may be displayed and printed as PDFs.

Print version (NRLF): has no collective volumes, but there is a collective index to volumes 1-30; and indexes cumulate every 5 volumes.