Chemical Engineering

1980. U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Institute of Standards and Technolog

2021. Gengxiang Hu. "This textbook illustrates one-component phase diagrams, binary equilibrium phase diagrams and ternary phase diagrams for ceramics, polymers and alloys by presenting case studies on preparation processes, and provides up-to-date information on nano-crystal materials, non-crystal materials and functional materials. As second volume in the set, it is an extension of the first volume on physical aspect of materials. [Volume] presents deformations and recrystallization of materials; [and] discusses electrical, thermal, magnetic and optical properties.

1991, David A. Young. "The behavior of solid and liquid matter at high pressures and temperatures is best described in a phase diagram, which shows the regions of stability of different phases of the material. Thanks to the diamond-anvil cell, which has made possible much higher pressures, and to new and very accurate theoretical models and methods, Phase Diagrams of the Elements presents the most up-to-date information on the phase behavior of all the chemical elements from hydrogen to fermium. The book summarizes, with the aid of tables and illustrations, the experimental data and the theoretical calculations. Each element is discussed in a separate section. Other chapters deal with methods, the liquid-vapor transition, and an overview of the elements. While comprehensively reviewing all that has been done in this important area, the author also points to questions that need much more experimental and theoretical work."

2008. Mats Hillert. "Computational tools allow material scientists to model and analyze increasingly complicated systems to appreciate material behavior. Accurate use and interpretation however, requires a strong understanding of the thermodynamic principles that underpin phase equilibrium, transformation and state. This fully revised and updated edition covers the fundamentals of thermodynamics, with a view to modern computer applications. The theoretical basis of chemical equilibria and chemical changes is covered with an emphasis on the properties of phase diagrams. Starting with the basic principles, discussion moves to systems involving multiple phases. New chapters cover irreversible thermodynamics, extremum principles, and the thermodynamics of surfaces and interfaces. Theoretical descriptions of equilibrium conditions, the state of systems at equilibrium and the changes as equilibrium is reached, are all demonstrated graphically."

2017. D.R.F. West et al. "This book serves undergraduates, postgraduates, and scientists in materials science who wish to acquire or extend their understanding of ternary phase diagrams. Emphasis is given to the use of phase diagrams as a means of understanding phase changes that occur as a function of temperature."

1977-present. CALPHAD stands for Computer CALculation of PHAse Diagrams. “The design of industrial processes requires reliable thermodynamic data. CALPHAD (Computer Coupling of Phase Diagrams and Thermochemistry) aims to promote computational thermodynamics through development of models to represent thermodynamic properties for various phases which permit prediction of properties of multicomponent systems from those of binary and ternary subsystems, critical assessment of data and their incorporation into self-consistent databases, development of software to optimize and derive thermodynamic parameters and the development and use of databanks for calculations to improve understanding of various industrial and technological processes.”

2004-present. ASM International. Previous title Journal of Phase Equilibria (1991-2003). “ The Journal of Phase Equilibria and Diffusion (JPED) focuses on the crystallographic, chemical, diffusion, and other kinetic properties of phases. It features critical phase diagram evaluations on scientifically and industrially important alloy systems, authored by international experts, as well as critically reviewed basic and applied research results, and a survey of current literature. JPED covers the significance of diagrams as well as new research techniques, equipment, data evaluation, nomenclature, presentation, and other aspects of phase diagram preparation and use. It also offers information on such phenomena as kinetic control of equilibrium, coherency effects, impurity effects, and thermodynamic and crystallographic characteristics.”

PRINT ONLY. Call number TN 690.4 .O33 2000. Located at 2nd floor Reference collection in NorthWest corner of Shields Library.

PRINT ONLY. Call number QD503 .M48 2007. Shields 3rd Floor General Collection shelves.

PRINT ONLY. CALL number TA 490 .H29 (5 volumes). Located at 2nd floor Reference collection in NorthWest corner of Shields Library.

PRINT ONLY. Call number QD 503 .W575 (2 volumes). Shields 3rd Floor General Collection shelves.

PRINT ONLY. Call number TN690 .C274 2012. Shields 3rd Floor General Collection shelves.