Research Guides: Astronomy & Astrophysics: Technical Reports & Government Publications

Technical Reports

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized.
SciTech Connect (U.S. Department of Energy)
SciTech Connect consolidates the contents of OSTI’s Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991-present and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to planetary science-related citations, full-text online documents, and images and videos. The types of information include: conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
DTIC helps the Department of Defense (DoD) community access pertinent scientific and technical information to meet mission needs more effectively.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL)
A collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.

OSTI (U.S. Department of Energy)
OSTI’s Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database. Provides free public access to over 230,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991-present and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.
Science.gov
Searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

NASA PubSpace This link opens in a new window
NASA's designated repository for NASA-funded researchers (both civil servant and non-civil servant) to deposit peer-reviewed publications and associated data. The repository uses PubMed Central to preserve and provide access to NASA-funded research.