Welcome to the library subject guide for Astronomy and Astrophysics! UC Davis Library provides a wealth of subscription and licensed resources that can help students, faculty, and researchers identify articles, proceedings, reports, data, and books in a print or electronic format. The following guide will point you to a selection of specialized and related resources in astronomy and related fields.
Key Resources
- NASA PubSpace This link opens in a new windowNASA's designated repository for NASA-funded researchers (both civil servant and non-civil servant) to deposit peer-reviewed publications and associated data. The repository uses PubMed Central to preserve and provide access to NASA-funded research.
- ArXiv-AstrophysicsarXiv® is a curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts more than two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.
- Earth, Atmospheric and Aquatic Science This link opens in a new windowDatabase indexes literature across the earth, atmospheric, and aquatic sciences and incorporates the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts; Oceanic Abstracts; and Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts databases. Sources indexed include: scholarly, trade and industry journals; technical reports; conference proceedings; government publications; and magazines. Subject areas include: aquaculture, aquatic organisms, atmospheric pollution and dynamics, climatology, marine biology, meteorology, oceanography, and water quality.
[Coverage: 1950-present] - Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) This link opens in a new windowThis database covers over 600 journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present.
[Coverage: 1974-present] - Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]