Accessing Article 'Full-Text'
"Get it at UC" Button
Most databases provide a description of articles and other resources to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within their website. Included as part of the item record is the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to a copy of the full text of the article.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or book, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the book or article (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Find Articles via Subject Databases
There are numerous databases to help support your research in earth and planetary sciences. If you do not know where to start, ask a librarian for recommendations.
Recommended Astronomy databases:
- Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) This link opens in a new windowThis database covers over 600 journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present.
[Coverage: 1974-present] - ADS: SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service This link opens in a new windowADS includes Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstract Service, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, Astrophysics Preprints, astronomical data catalogs and data archives, including those from NASA space missions.
[Coverage: 1975-present] - NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED) This link opens in a new windowNED is a database of approximately 750,000 extragalactic objects with bibliographic references and basic data. Contents and services span the entire observed spectrum from gamma rays through radio frequencies. As new observations are published, they are cross-identified or statistically associated with previous data and integrated into a unified database to simplify queries and retrieval. Master index of distinct astrophysical objects, multiwavelength cross-identifications, associations, positions, redshifts, redshift-independent distances, photometry, diameters, images, spectra, and detailed notes.
- NASA PubSpace This link opens in a new windowNASA's designated repository for NASA-funded researchers (both civil servant and non-civil servant) to deposit peer-reviewed publications and associated data. The repository uses PubMed Central to preserve and provide access to NASA-funded research.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new windowSearch NASA reports, NACA documents and selected non-NASA archives in the fields of aeronautics, space science, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, and physics. Provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. Includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
[Coverage: 1917-present]
Recommended interdisciplinary databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present] - INSPEC This link opens in a new windowInspec was created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), and is one of the world's most definitive bibliographic scientific engineering research databases, containing over 15 million abstracts and indexing records. Inspec is on the Engineering Village platform and can be searched together with Ei Compendex. By searching both engineering research databases together, engineers gain access to the broadest engineering source available with a single database search experience.
[Coverage: 1898-present] - Scopus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823]
Select Digital Repositories and Collections
- ArXiv-AstrophysicsarXiv® is a curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts more than two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.
- SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing. About 15,000 papers are added annually. The SPIE Digital library provides access to the papers published in: Proceedings of SPIE, Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication, and Microsystems, Journal of Applied Remote Sensing, and Journal of Nanophotonics.
[Coverage: varies; as early as 1990-present]
A database of particle physics literature maintained and run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. Many citations are to preprints or e-prints hosted at SLAC.
SCOAP3 has converted key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to Open Access at no cost for authors.
Database of NRAO papers