WFC 120: Biology & Conservation of Fishes

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.
•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.
•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

2011. Edited by Anthony P. Farrell. This three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology. Volume 1 covers The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior; Volume 2 covers Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake; and Volume 3 covers Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications. Over 300 articles are arranged by the above three volume themes rather than alphabetically. Topics cover these aspects of physiology: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural(Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy and more.

2004. Daniel Pauly. This “ encyclopaedia of ichthyology, ecology and evolution … [is] based upon everything that Charles Darwin ever wrote about fish. Entries are arranged alphabetically and can be about, for example, a particular fish taxon, an anatomical part, a chemical substance, a scientist, a place, or an evolutionary or ecological concept. The reader can start wherever they like and are then led by a series of cross-references on a fascinating voyage of interconnected entries, each indirectly or directly connected with original writings from Darwin himself. Along the way, the reader is offered interpretation of the historical material put in the context of both Darwin's time and that of contemporary biology and ecology. This book is intended for anyone interested in fishes, the work of Charles Darwin, evolutionary biology and ecology, and natural history in general.”

2009 (2nd ed.) Helfman, Gene, et al, editors. NOTE: there are three single-use online copies licensed for three simultaneous users. When you are finished with using the online copy, please do log out to free up access for another user.

“The second edition of The Diversity of Fishes represents a major revision of the world's most widely adopted ichthyology textbook. Expanded and updated, the second edition is illustrated throughout with striking color photographs depicting the spectacular evolutionary adaptations of the most ecologically and taxonomically diverse vertebrate group. The text incorporates the latest advances in the biology of fishes, covering taxonomy, anatomy, physiology, biogeography, ecology, and behavior. A new chapter on genetics and molecular ecology of fishes has been added, and conservation is emphasized throughout. Hundreds of new and redrawn illustrations augment readable text, and every chapter has been revised to reflect the discoveries and greater understanding achieved during the past decade.“

Continuously updated. Eschmeyer's Catalog of Fishes is the authoritative reference for taxonomic fish names, featuring a searchable on-line database by family/subfamily, family group names and more.

2011. Gene S. Helfman et al. “One fish, two fish, red fish, nearly thirty thousand species of fish--or fishes, as they are properly called when speaking of multiple species. This is but one of many things the authors of this fascinatingly informative book reveal in answering common and not-so-common questions about this ubiquitous group of animals. Fishes range in size from tiny gobies to the massive Ocean Sunfish, which weighs thousands of pounds. They live in just about every body of water on the planet. Ichthyologists Gene Helfman and Bruce Collette provide accurate, entertaining, and sometimes surprising answers to over 100 questions about these water dwellers, such as "How many kinds of fishes are there?" "Can fishes breathe air?" "How smart are fishes?" and "Do fishes feel pain?" They explain how bony fishes evolved, the relationship between them and sharks, and why there is so much color variation among species. Along the way we also learn about the Devils Hole Pupfish, which has the smallest range of any vertebrate in the world; "Lota lota," the only freshwater fish to spawn under ice; the Candiru, a pencil-thin Amazonian catfish that lodges itself in a very personal place on male bathers and must be removed surgically; and many other curiosities. With more than 100 photographs--including two full-color photo galleries--and the most up-to-date facts on the world's fishes from two premier experts, this fun book is the perfect bait for any curious naturalist, angler, or aquarist.”

2010. Edited by R. Quentin Grafton et al. This handbook is the “most comprehensive and interdisciplinary work on marine conservation and fisheries management ever compiled. It is the first to bridge fisheries and marine conservation issues. Its innovative ideas, detailed case studies, and governance framework provide a global special perspective over time and treat problems in the high seas, community fisheries, industrial fishing, and the many interactions between use and non-use of the oceans. Its policy tools and ideas for overcoming the perennial problems of over fishing, habitat and biodiversity loss address the facts that many marine ecosystems are in decline and plagued by overexploitation due to unsustainable fishing practices. An outstanding feature of the book is the detailed case-studies on conservation practice and fisheries management from around the world. … Ecosystem and incentive-based approaches are described and complemented by tools for cooperative, participatory solutions.”

2016. Alexei Orlov ed. et al. Volume 1. “Hagfishes and lampreys, both examples of jawless fishes, are elongated, eel-like animals lacking paired fins, and are the only living representatives of ancient creatures that gave rise to current species of fish and, eventually, humans. This volume provides an overview of the current status of knowledge on a variety of topics related to jawless fishes, including their taxonomy, zoogeography, phylogeny, molecular biology, evolution, life history, role in the ecosystem, and fisheries and management of hagfishes and lampreys worldwide.”

2016. Alexei Orlov ed. et al. Volume 2.

2016. Edited by Harold E. Mooney et al. Several chapters have UCD faculty contributors. This “reference and sourcebook for California's remarkable ecological abundance provides an integrated assessment of each major ecosystem type - its distribution, structure, function, and management. … Ecosystems of California covers the state from oceans to mountaintops using multiple lenses: past and present, flora and fauna, aquatic and terrestrial, natural and managed. Each chapter evaluates natural processes for a specific ecosystem, describes drivers of change, and discusses how that ecosystem may be altered in the future. This book also explores the drivers of California's ecological patterns and the history of the state's various ecosystems, outlining how the challenges of climate change and invasive species and opportunities for regulation and stewardship could potentially affect the state's ecosystems. The text explicitly incorporates both human impacts and conservation and restoration efforts and shows how ecosystems support human well-being.”

2008 (5th ed.) OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). “The Multilingual Dictionary of Fish and Fish Products is a world standard guide to the names of fish and fish products traded internationally. This fifth edition comprises 1187 items, with descriptions in English and French and the equivalents for the main headings in 18 other languages: Danish, Dutch, Finnish, German, Greek, Icelandic, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Serbian, Croatian, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish. Indexes are provided for each language, including an index of scientific names for species of fish, shellfish, etc.”

Fifth edition (2015). Edited by Michael Allaby. Oxford Reference Library. Classic, comprehensive dictionary covering “all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Entries cover topics such as plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, population, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology, and meteorology.”

2006. Peter B. Moyle. This book by retired UCD faculty member Dr. Moyle “… bridges the gap between purely pictorial books and scholarly texts, and provides a succinct summary of fish biology and conservation for students and fish enthusiasts.”