Getting Started
FACULTY: Andrew Rypel — rypel@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to locate publications for your fish paper.
Top publications in fish biology/conservation, where you might find interesting species to explore, are the journals Fish and Fisheries, Ecology of Freshwater Fish, Journal of Fish Biology, and Marine Ecology and Progress Series (MEPS).
Fish Biology and Conservation Search Terms
The UC Davis Library online catalog uses Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). Each library subject database — such as BIOSIS Previews or Zoological Record — also uses subject lists that can help you precisely search your topic. All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as phyla or orders or families.
Please fill out the Library Survey !
Key Resources for WFC 120
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
- FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes This link opens in a new windowRelational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UCD's most important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1971-present; varies by subfile,earlier for selected core titles]
