Research Guides: WFC 120: Biology & Conservation of Fishes: Government Publication Collections

Government Publication Collections

Government publications are essential to fisheries and aquaculture research whether at an international, national/federal, state or local organizational or agency level.

International Resources

FAO fisheries and aquaculture. Various publication series
Extensive FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization, United Nations) series on all aspects of fisheries and aquaculture. Includes series that are reports, technical papers, circulars and guidelines. Includes the annual “State of the World Fisheries and Aquaculture” report

U.S. Federal or National Resources

National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
Government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present]

NOAA Institutional Repository
The NOAA Repository is a digital library of scientific literature and research produced by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. … This repository is retained indefinitely available to researchers, academics and the general public.

The repository contains NOAA publications, as defined in the NOAA Publications Policy , dating from NOAA’s formation in 1970 to present and NOAA-authored and -funded journal articles from 2015 forward. Digitized publications from NOAA’s predecessor agencies including the U.S. Weather Bureau and the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey are available via the NOAA Central Library Catalog, and the NCL website. Additionally, this repository does not contain data; NOAA data can be found via the NOAA Data Discovery Portal @ https://data.noaa.gov/datasetsearch/

EPA National Service Center for Environmental Publications This link opens in a new window
EPA's central repository of all EPA documents with over 7,000 titles available in paper or electronic form.
Sea Grant Publications This link opens in a new window
Consists of research funded by the NOAA National Sea Grant College Program. The emphasis of these documents is on the responsible environmental stewardship and management of the United States' coastal, marine, and Great Lakes resources. This collection includes a range of annual and technical reports, educational/instructional materials, and journal publications.

California State Resources

Document Library (California Department of Fish and Wildlife) This link opens in a new window
The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish adn Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013.