(P)research your Topic
Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Reference materials are intended to help you get started with a basic overview of a topic and are often presented in the form of encyclopedias or dictionaries that provide 'further reading,' or 'see also' sections with bibliographies to connect you to additional information resources on your topic.
Reference sources will help you to:
- gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
- identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
- connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic
Recommended:
-
Gale ebooks This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research covering the areas of Biography, Environment, History, Literature, Religion, Science and Social Science. Includes the following: Encyclopaedia Judaica; Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia; Encyclopedia of American Religions; Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography; Encyclopedia of Science and Religion; Encyclopedia of Religion; Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World; Encyclopedia of Buddhism. UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes; Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History; Twayne's Authors Series; and Scribner Writers Online Series.
-
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowFull-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
-
Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences Reference CollectionThis online Reference Collection forms the definitive source for those entering, researching or teaching in any of the many disciplines making up this interdisciplinary area of study. This resource is designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of Earth Systems and Environmental Sciences.
-
Reference Collection in Life SciencesThis online Reference Collection forms the definitive source for those entering, researching or teaching in any of the many disciplines making up this interdisciplinary area of study. This resource is designed to serve as an in depth and comprehensive compendium of life sciences.