Books/e-Books
Search for print and ebooks:
The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in or about the sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications as well as history of these areas include:
- Biology — Authorship
- Communication of technical information
- Environmental Literature
- Life sciences — Authorship
- Medical writing
- Medicine — Historiography
- Nature in Literature
- Natural History — Historiography
- Science — Historiography
- Technical writing
- Technology — Historiography
Selected current books on science writing are found in the Shields Library Reference collection, 2nd floor Shields. These rarely may be checked out but can be used in the library or chapters copied or scanned.
-
UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
The UC Davis Library buys across all sciences with very deep collections in the campus's founding (>100 years old) disciplines of agriculture and biology.
There are four major LIbrary of Congress Classification science-related areas of Q, R, S and T (all on the third floor of Shields unless rare books). In addition, some science related areas are found in the G class (on the second floor of Shields excepting rare books), as noted below.
Note that the subclasses listed below are very large collections - you will need to use the UC Library Search (link provided above) to refine to a narrower area.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE
CLASS G - GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION
GB subclass Oceanography
GC subclass Environmental Sciences
Q subclass General Science
Q 125 History of Science
QB subclass Mathematics
QA 75.5-76 Computers & Computer Science
QB subclass Astronomy
QC subclass Physics
QD subclass Chemistry
QE subclass Geology
QH subclass Natural History - Biology
QH359-425 Evolution
QH540-549.5 Ecology
QK subclass Botany
QL subclass Zoology
QM subclass Human Anatomy
QP subclass Physiology
QR subclass Microbiology
CLASS R - MEDICINE (most current, high-use materials are at Blaisdell Medical Library using W classification from the National Library of Medicine)
There are some selected current collections at Shields
R subclass Medicine (General)
RA subclass Public Health (particularly as related to Toxicology)
RS subclass Pharmacy and Materia Medica
RV subclass Botanic, Thomsonian, and Eclectic Medicine
RX subclass Homeopathy
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
S subclass Agriculture (General)
SB subclass Plant culture
SD Forestry
SF subclass Animal culture (domesticated animals including livestock)
SH subclass Aquaculture. Fisheries. Angling
SK subclass Hunting Sports
CLASS T - Technology (includes all areas of engineering, biotechnology, chemical technology, cooking and food science)
-
Scanning (digitization) requestsHow to request having book chapters scanned and sent.
-
Shipping ServiceInstructions on how to have books shipped to you.
Access eBooks collections online by publisher:
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles.
[Coverage: dates vary]
-
Taylor & Francis eBooksFull-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture.
-
Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 -
Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present
-
De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.
Agriculture eBook collections
-
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new windowCABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
-
Brill | Wageningen Academic eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks