Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
E-Books
Below are e-books to introduce you to key concepts and research in nutrition during pregnancy.
Community and Public Health Nutrition by
Every new print copy includes 365-day access to Navigate Advantage for Community and Public Health Nutrition which unlocks a complete eBook, assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Updated with the latest data in the field, Community and Public Health Nutrition, Fifth Edition explores the complex, multifaceted array of programs and services that exist in the United States today that are dedicated to bettering population and community health through improved nutrition. The Fifth Edition explores the subject by first considering how nutrition fits into public health practice and then by examining policymaking, assessment and intervention methods, special populations, food security, and program management.
ISBN: 9781284234237Publication Date: 2022
Gastroenterology and Nutrition by
Dr. Richard Polin's Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the most challenging aspects of neonatal care, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today's practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient. Stay fully up to date in this fast-changing field with Gastroenterology and Nutrition, 3rd Edition. Emerging knowledge about the basic developmental physiology of upper intestinal motility as it relates to reflux and feeding tolerance, and immaturities in motility by altering composition of feedings and pharmacologic means. New content on genetics and pharmacology, the role of inflammation in systemic diseases in other organs as well as necrotizing enterocolitis, optimizing administration of lipids to preterm infants, and administering lipids to infants who are at high risk for complications secondary to suboptimal lipid therapies. Current coverage of the composition of human milk and clinical trials that address the efficacy of donor milk in comparison to formula and own mother's milk. Consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily. The most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Purchase each volume individually, or get the entire 7-volume set, which includes online access that allows you to search across all titles! Gastroenterology and NutritionHematology, Immunology and GeneticsHemodynamics and CardiologyInfectious Disease and Pharmacology New Volume!Nephrology and Fluid/Electrolyte PhysiologyNeurologyThe Newborn Lung
ISBN: 9780323545020Publication Date: 2018-08-28
Maternal-fetal nutrition during pregnancy and lactation by
Improving clinicians' understanding of effects nutrition can have on maternal health and fetal and neonatal development can have considerable impact on achieving a healthy pregnancy and reducing childhood morbidity. This book defines the nutritional requirements with regard to each stage of fetal development and growth, placing scientific developments into a clinical context. Clinicians and scientists discuss: how the fetus grows and what macro- and micronutrients it requires; what happens when there is nutrient deficiency and when placental development is abnormal; aspects of infant feeding, both with breast milk and formula milk. Specific problems encountered in pregnancy that pose a nutritional challenge are also considered, including pregnancy in teenagers, multiple pregnancies and pregnancy in those who are vegetarians or vegans. All doctors, health-care workers or scientists who either care for women, their newborn and growing infants, or who are involved in research in these areas, will find this to be essential reading.
ISBN: 9786612486654Publication Date: 2010
Molecular Nutrition by
Molecular Nutrition: Mother and Infant presents the impact of diet in early life stages, from pre-conception, throughout pregnancy, and to the infant. The book covers the molecular biology of the cell, genetic machinery and its function, general coverage on diet and nutrition, pregnancy, placenta, weight gain, breast milk, feeding practices, gestational disease, glucose metabolism, immunity, vitamins and minerals. Other topics discusses include fetal programming, bioactive compounds, amino acids, intrauterine growth, one carbon metabolism, overnutrition, genetic risk factors, polymorphisms, folic acid genes, DNA methylation, genes involved in lipid metabolism, microRNAs, epigenetics, transcriptomics and micro RNA. This book will be a welcomed reference for research scientists and practitioners, including nutritionists and dieticians.
ISBN: 0128138629Publication Date: 2020
Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding by
Explaining the practical implications of new discoveries in 'life-course biology', Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is an informed resource on factors that affect offspring development. The impact of parental lifestyle and behavioural choices influence not only fetal development and birth outcomes, but also postnatal development, yet guidance on appropriate diet, behaviour, and exposures during pregnancy is often confusing and contradictory. With accessible explanations of the latest scientific research, and clear summaries and recommendations, this book is a valuable and authoritative guide for all levels of health care providers. The authors provide an overview of the background evidence, highlighting the importance of lifestyle choices prior to and during pregnancy. In-depth discussions of nutritional and lifestyle factors that impact on pregnancy and offspring outcomes are based on the latest research and exploration of key scientific studies. Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is a manual offering both scientific and clinical evidence to empower health care providers and ensure they have the information necessary to confidently care for prospective and new parents.
ISBN: 9781322333502Publication Date: 2014
Nutrition During Pregnancy and Lactation by
Pregnancy is a viewed as a window to future health. With the birth of the developmental origins of human adult disease hypothesis, research and clinical practice has turned its attention to the influence of maternal factors such as health and lifestyle surrounding pregnancy as a means to understand and prevent the inter-generational inheritance of chronic disease susceptibility. Outcomes during pregnancy have long-lasting impacts on both women on children. Moreover, nutrition early in life can influence growth and the establishment of lifelong eating habits and behaviors. This Special Issue on "Nutrition during Pregnancy and Lactation: Implications for Maternal and Infant Health" is intended to highlight new epidemiological, mechanistic and interventional studies that investigate maternal nutrition around the pregnancy period on maternal and infant outcomes. Submissions may include original research, narrative reviews, and systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
ISBN: 3039280546Publication Date: 2020
Nutrition During Pregnancy and Lactation by
The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine last reviewed the state of the science on nutrition during pregnancy and lactation 30 years ago. The resulting consensus study reports from the Institute of Medicine?Nutrition During Pregnancy (IOM, 1990) and Nutrition During Lactation (IOM, 1991)?summarized the scientific evidence and provided nutrient recommendations. In the decades since the release of these two reports, the body of evidence on the relationships between nutrition during pregnancy and lactation and maternal and infant health and chronic disease has continued to grow and evolve. At the same time, the demographics of the population have shifted, giving rise to new considerations. To explore the evidence that has emerged, the National Academies conducted a 2-day workshop in January 2020. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
ISBN: 0309679249Publication Date: 2020
Prenatal and Childhood Nutrition by
Nutrition is not only a basic need that all humans have to sustain life, but it is also critical to successful early development. This research compendium lends deeper insights into the links between nutrition and healthy brain function and from the reverse perspective, between nutrition and neurocognitive disorders. This well-organized and accessible compendium offers a vital research context for policymakers, educators, medical providers, and families. It underlines our urgent responsibility to give children a strong start by improving prenatal and early childhood nutrition."
ISBN: 1322976066Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The Role of Pregnancy Nutrition in Maternal and Offspring Health by
In pregnancy, maternal nutrition sustains and nourishes the developing child. Imbalances in either the direction of nutritional excess or deficiency can have adverse consequences for child health. In addition, more research now suggests that good pregnancy nutrition influences child health beyond pregnancy and delivery. This includes modifying the risk of child health outcomes as they enter childhood and adulthood through influences on placental development, hormonal pathways, and organ structure and function. Poor pregnancy nutrition may also compromise maternal health during pregnancy, which may have long-term consequences for women's health. Understanding the biological and social mechanisms operating during pregnancy can help in the design of better clinical and public health interventions. This Special Issue on "The Role of Pregnancy Nutrition in Maternal and Offspring Health" includes etiological and mechanistic studies of pregnancy nutrition with short- and long-term maternal and child health outcomes, including original research, narrative reviews, and systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Together, this body of work provides important insights into the influence of dietary patterns, food groups, and nutrients on pregnancy outcomes, and long-term neurodevelopmental, respiratory, and metabolic health in the children. It also highlights nutritional consequences for specific groups of women, including those with pregnancy complications and eating disorders.
ISBN: 3039219960Publication Date: 2019
Samour and King's Pediatric Nutrition in Clinical Care by
Samour & King's Pediatric Nutrition in Clinical Care, Fifth Edition provides comprehensive coverage of the nutritional aspects of pediatric clinical care from neonate through adolescent, and all pediatric disorders impacting nutrition. A widely trusted resource for more than twenty years, this text combines coverage of nutrition assessment and care with detailed coverage of normal growth, relevant disease states, and medical nutrition therapy. In addition to important updates in all major areas of pediatric nutrition, the Fifth Edition has been expanded to included evolving areas in pediatric nutrition including, malnutrition related to undernutrition, nutrition focused physical exam, integrative medicine and more. When utilizing the text, students and practitioners alike will be able to discuss the nutrition guidelines associated with normal growth and development, and will be better able to determine medical nutrition therapy interventions for children with diseases, injuries, genetic disorders and weight issues.
ISBN: 9781284146394Publication Date: 2019
Access E-Books via Major Publisher Collections:
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine provides unlimited simultaneous user ebook access to the most recent editions of a collection of core medical reference and textbooks (e.g., Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, and Goodman & Gilman’s Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics), relevant to health sciences professions graduate students (e.g., medical, nursing, nurse practitoner, physician assistants), as well as practicing clinicians. Includes point-of-care resources, study and test prep tools, audio-recordings and videos. Some features require first registering and logging onto a free MyAccess Profile. Additional features: flashcards, flash cards, heart sounds, animations, differential diagnosis tools (e.g., DDx, Diagnosaurus), diagnostic and imaging studies, lectures, Podcasts, procedure videos. Some content overlaps with AccessBioMedical Science. [Coverage: most recent editions]
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package. [Coverage: 2000-present]
This link opens in a new window
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press. UCD has also purchased frontlists for: Columbia University Press: 2019-2022 Cornell University Press: 2019-2022 Harvard University Press: 2018-2022 University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022 Yale University Press: 2019-2022 University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.
- This link opens in a new window
- LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window Relevant to health professions students (MD, MEPN, NP, PA), the OVID/LWW Health Library includes the following core online textbooks and video collections that are licensed by the UC Davis Library: Acland’s Video Atlas of Human Anatomy, Bate’s Visual Guide to Physical Examination, LWW Health Library Advanced Practice Nursing Collection, LWW Health Library Anatomical Sciences Collection. Content strengths include topics in the basic medical sciences, as well as both general and specialty-focused clinical knowledge and skills. Either browse the content for each package or use the library catalog to find individual ebook titles. Highlights include Moore’s Clinically Oriented Anatomy, Grant’s Atlas of Human Anatomy, Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation, and selected titles from the “BluePrints” and “Step-Up” review series. Provides resources for medical students as they build foundational clinical skills and enter clerkships. Supports both the practice and specialty-based areas of the curriculum for nurses working on either their Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) or their Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), as well as physician assistant (PA) students. Includes certification content, integrated audio files, clinical assessment videos, and case studies.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Elsevier on the ScienceDirect platform. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. NOTE: We don't license everything from Elsevier, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have a green box next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, some major reference works, some professional and trade titles, consumer books, and many health sciences titles. [Coverage: dates vary]
- This link opens in a new window
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, ebook series, journals, and major reference works published by Springer. NOTE: We don't license everything from Springer, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter has a yellow lock next to it, check the library catalog, or request from another library. Coverage for eBooks begins generally with 2005-on. Direct link to SpringerLink ebooks only.
- This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Full-text searching across the ebooks, journals, and major reference works published by Wiley. Disciplines covered include: the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. NOTE: We don't license everything from Wiley, but we may have a print copy. If the article or chapter does not have an open lock next to it, check the library catalog or request from another library. Textbooks are generally not included by the publisher. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an open lock icon.
- This link opens in a new window
