ENT 153: Medical Entomology

“The Laboratory of Malaria and Vector Research (LMVR) is dedicated to studies of malaria and insect vectors of infectious diseases. Research groups in the laboratory maintain an array of on-campus and overseas activities investigating disease-transmitting insects and broad areas of malaria biology and pathogenesis. Basic discoveries from these investigations support searches for new drug treatments, diagnostic tools, and vaccines. ”

“The Division of Vector-Borne Diseases (DVBD) is a national and international leader in researching, preventing, and controlling viruses and bacteria spread by vectors including mosquitoes, ticks, and fleas. … DVDB … “is part of CDC’s National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID). DVBD has four branches: 1) Arboviral Diseases Branch: Focuses on viruses spread by mosquitoes and ticks. This branch is responsible for viruses like chikungunya, West Nile, yellow fever, and Zika. This branch also serves as the World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Centre for Arthropod-Borne Viruses Reference and Research;
2) Bacterial Diseases Branch: Focuses on bacteria spread by ticks and fleas. This branch is responsible for bacteria like Lyme disease, plague, and tularemia. This branch also serves as the WHO Collaborating Centre for Bacterial Vector-Borne Diseases. 3) Dengue Branch: Focuses on the four dengue viruses spread by mosquitoes; 4) Rickettsial Zoonoses Branch: Focuses on a special category of bacteria primarily spread by ticks, lice, and fleas. This branch is responsible for bacteria like Q fever, Rocky Mountain spotted fever, and typhus fevers. … [the] division’s global reference collection contains pathogens dating back 100 years.”

This page includes links to collection/reporting tools used in Vector-Borne disease surveillance. Resources listed include ArboNET (https://www.cdc.gov/mosquitoes/php/arbonet/index.html) and National Notifiable Diseases Surveillance System (NNDSS) at https://www.cdc.gov/nndss/about/index.html

“ VectorMap is a unique resource for collection records, distribution models, and other geospatial data relating to arthropods of biomedical importance designed to inform risk assessments of vector-borne diseases. Comprising ~0.7 million collection records and over 500 ecological niche and disease risk models, VectorMap also hosts environmental and climate data related to vector ecology. VectorMap contributes to the global knowledge of vector-borne disease threats by applying museum curation standards to collection data and making it publicly available. In addition to high-quality collection data, VectorMap also routinely updates and hosts environmental variables used for modeling vector distributions and disease transmission. Currently, there is no other single resource for vector distribution data that provides this level of transparency and quality control.”

“ WHO recommends a coordinated approach to vector control, which entails a rational decision-making process to optimize the use of available resources for this strategic intervention. Integrated vector management is a combination of different intersectoral interventions aimed at improving the efficiency, ecological soundness and sustainability of disease control measures against several vector-borne NTDs, including the sound management of public health pesticides. The aim of this approach is to contribute to the achievement of global targets set for control, elimination and eradication of selected diseases, by making interventions targeting vectors and intermediate hosts more efficient, cost effective, ecologically sound and sustainable. ”

A well-organized site for statistical information available from more than 100 U.S. government agency web sites. Statistics can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic or agency.

he Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. The government-published Statistical Abstract of the U.S. was discontinued following publication of the 2012 edition.

Coverage: 2013-

Annual statistical compendia from the Census Bureau through 2012. Continued by the commercially published (Proquest) Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Census has the Statistical Abstract in pdf online back to 1878.

Coverage: 1878-2012