Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as “medical entomol*” or “insect vector*” or mosquit* disease* rather than the more specific insect vector* viral transmission load or Zika molecular epidemiol*. Use the literature databases listed in the Databases section to search for very specific (article-level or book-chapter level) topics.
Useful subject headings (sometimes from two subject vocabularies, see information in bullets below on Library of Congress or National Library of Medicine Classification systems) for searches in this area include: Animals as carriers of disease | Insect vectors | Insects as carriers of disease | Zoonoses | Vector Control
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower. - Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Locate books in person:
Call number ranges to browse in the Shields Library stacks - all on the third floor.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE @ https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
CLASS Q - SCIENCE
QL subclass Zoology
- QL 461-599.82 Location of books on the natural history or general biology including ecology and physiology of insects/arthropods
- QX Parasitology – Disease Vectors (NOTE: QX is a medical library call number area now to only be used at Blaisdell Medical Library)
- QX 500 Medical Entomology, general
- QX 600 Disease Vectors, general
- QX 650 Disease Vectors, specific
CLASS R - MEDICINE (Library of Congress)
- RA xxx RA is Public Health (NOTE: R call numbers are only in Shields Library)
- RA 639.5-641 Medical entomology; insect vectors
Vector biology/Entomology areas NOT pertinent to human health/medical entomology
CLASS S - AGRICULTURE
- SB 818 – SB 945 Insects as plant pests (NOTE: SB is plant/botany area found in Shields Library)
- SF xxx Domesticated animals and infections (Vet Med related – animal rather than human diseases)
PLEASE NOTE: with the closure of the Carlson Health Sciences Library in June 2022, print-only Veterinary Medicine publications that are high-use, core titles, reference materials and serials titles will be moved to appropriate locations in Shields Library over 2022-2024.
Access eBooks online via publishers or collections:
The following eBook collections are useful in searching the entire online text of books for specific chapters or book sections on your topics.
Veterinary Medicine/Agriculture
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
Human Medicine
- Health Sciences eBooksGuide provided by the UCD Health Sciences Libraries to their eBook collections including a select list of major texts, organized by medical specialty.
Access eBooks via major publisher collections:
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present
- De Gruyter University Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of ebooks selected from the front list titles of participating university presses. Participants include: Amsterdam University Press, Columbia University Press, Cornell University Press, Duke University Press, Fordham University Press, Harvard University Press, New York University Press, Princeton University Press, Rutgers University Press, Stanford University Press, University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, University of Pennsylvania Press, University of Toronto Press, and Yale University Press.
UCD has also purchased frontlists for:
Columbia University Press: 2019-2022
Cornell University Press: 2019-2022
Harvard University Press: 2018-2022
University of California Press: 2000-2013 and 2016-2022
Yale University Press: 2019-2022
University Press titles may also be available in print or through other online packages and for additional years. Check UC Library Search for access to specific titles.