Getting Started
FACULTY: Geoffrey Attardo — gmattardo@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to locate literature related to medical entomology.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating medical entomology literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in medical entomology areas requires consulting a variety of resources which are comprehensively listed in the Databases section below. Since animal-related literature crosses many disciplines, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
Please fill out our Library Survey !
Key Resources for ENT 153
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as phyla or orders or families.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present]
