Properties
Basic Resources for Properties
- CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable major chemical reference works, including: CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs, Dictionary of Food Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Marine Natural Products, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, and Combined Chemical Dictionary. - Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals This link opens in a new windowThe Merck Index contains over 11,000 entries (referred to as monographs) mostly for single substances and related compounds (isomers, salts, etc.). Some families of natural products and biological substances are included as well. Data provided include: chemical, generic, and brand names; CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) registry numbers; physical data and literature references; structures and stereochemistry; toxicity; and information on therapeutic and non-medicinal uses. The Merck Index Online also includes sections on: organic name reactions, and additional tables. The Merck Index can be searched by structure with installation of a free ChemDraw plug-in available on the structure search page.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics2022-2023 (103rd ed.) The CRC handbook that started it all - over 100 years old and the most important data handbook for major areas of Chemistry and Physics.
- Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry (via AccessEngineering)2017 (17th ed.) James G. Speight, ed. “The Go-To Reference for Chemists for More Than 70 Years - Completely Updated to Include Today's Essential Topics. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, Seventeenth Edition is written to provide a reliable one-stop source of factual information for today's working chemist. Within its pages, you will find an unmatched compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings that span every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated Seventeenth Edition are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. The Seventeenth Edition is enhanced by the addition of an all-new section on Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources. This timely new content includes descriptions of coal, crude oil, natural gas, tar sand and tar sand bitumen, oil shale, biomass and biofuels, and minerals. Sections include:- Inorganic Chemistry- Organic Chemistry- Naturally Occurring Chemicals and Chemical Sources- Spectroscopy - General Information and Conversion Tables.”
Databases for Properties
- REAXYS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials
- SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- Cambridge Structural Database (part of WebCSD)UC Davis site license funded by the Chemistry Department. This service now includes the ability to search for inorganic structures through the CCDC’s and FIZ Karlsruhe’s joint Access Service using the Simple Search tab. The web version of Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) provides crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for more than 544,000 organic and organometallic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined by x-ray or neutron diffraction (nearly 600,000 structures).
- MatWeb: Material Property Data“Data sheets for over 155,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. … MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.“