The majority of chemistry-related materials are found in Shields Library at the call number area of QD. UC Davis now has one health science library and one all subjects collection (excluding human medicine) in the Shields Library. Important chemical information may also be found as part of the Government Information & Maps collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.
- Shields Library: The chemistry print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library.
- Blaisdell Medical Library, Medical Education Building, UC Davis Medical Center. Clinical chemistry materials are located here to support hospital laboratory and medical researchers needs.
- Government Information Collection, Shields Library — The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. The UC Davis Library collects extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. The UC Davis Library collects comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in UC Library Search. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes and assistance from reference librarians.
- Physical Sciences and Engineering Library (PSE). This library closed in June 2020 and the collections were first transferred to Temporary Storage. Materials are in the process of being transferred to 3 locations: Shields Library 3rd floor stacks, Shields Library Reference collection (2nd floor), and Northern Regional (UC) Library (Storage) Facility in Richmond. Materials located in Temporary Storage (at the old Carlson Health Sciences Library) may be requested for checkout at Shields or digitization.