“Get it at UC”: How to Access a Publication
"Get it at UC" Button
Databases provide a description of articles and other publications to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within the database. Most databases include, as part of the item record, the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to options to locate this publication.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a journal or other publication, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the item (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library or beyond. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Find Publications via Subject Databases
Multidisciplinary General Databases
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science Core Collection enables searching of top-cited peer-reviewed content across the sciences, social sciences, and humanities with "cited reference" search capabilities. "It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available." There is also access to Journal Citation Reports which provide impact metrics like the Journal Impact Factor (JIF) and Eigenfactor Scoring. Web of Science also has article, author and institutional citation indices. Includes EndNote Basic online citation management tool.
[Coverage: 1900-present]
Chemistry Databases
When searching specific compounds or chemicals, it is very useful to use a standardized identification number that has been assigned by the American Chemical Society for use in Chemical Abstracts (on SciFinder). This number is called the CAS Registry Number (RN) and you can think of it as a type of social security number or persistent ID to locate your compound or chemical no matter how it may be labelled. Specialized databases with all or a good proportion of the content about chemistry will provide the capability to search by CAS Number and will display the number when searching by different methods (such as topic, author etc.)
From the CAS Frequently Asked Questions:
"Q. What is a CAS Registry Number®
A. CAS Registry Numbers (often referred to as CAS RN® or CAS Numbers) are universally used to provide a unique, unmistakable identifier for chemical substances. A CAS Registry Number itself has no inherent chemical significance but provides an unambiguous way to identify a chemical substance or molecular structure when there are many possible systematic, generic, proprietary or trivial names.
CAS Registry Numbers are used in many other public and private databases as well as chemical inventory listings and, of course, are included in all CAS-produced databases."
- SciFindern (SciFinder-n) [Registration Required] This link opens in a new windowYou must (register for a SciFinder account) before you can use the database (login to VPN to access registration page from off-campus).
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1907-present, with selected pre-1907 material]
[Cited Reference Searching: 1996 - present, allows you to identify who is citing an article]
NOTE: Commercial use of your University account is strictly prohibited. SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.
- REAXYS This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
REAXYS provides property, structure and reaction data for millions of chemical substances (organic, inorganic and organometallic) and chemical reactions. Up to hundreds of fields of chemical and physical property information are available. Reaxys combines the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry and the Elsevier Patent Chemistry Database. It is searchable by text keywords, numerical physical and chemical properties, and by chemical structures and substructures.
[Coverage: 1772 - present]
Coverage:
1772 – present Chemical substances
1976 – present Chemical patents
1980 – present Organic chemistry journal articles
1995 – present Inorganic chemistry journal articles
Help:
Reaxys Academy: Learn How to Search Reaxys
Additional REAXYS Training materials
- ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) This link opens in a new windowCollection of crystal structure data of inorganic compounds recorded in the literature of the field from 1913-present.
[Coverage: 1913-present]
- Cambridge Structural Database (part of WebCSD)UC Davis site license funded by the Chemistry Department. This service now includes the ability to search for inorganic structures through the CCDC’s and FIZ Karlsruhe’s joint Access Service using the Simple Search tab. The web version of Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) provides crystallographic, chemical and bibliographic information for more than 544,000 organic and organometallic compounds whose 3D structures have been determined by x-ray or neutron diffraction (nearly 600,000 structures).