ANS 134: Animal Nutrition Laboratory

2012 (11th ed.) National Research Council. “Since 1944, the National Research Council has published 10 editions of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine. … The swine industry has undergone considerable changes since the tenth edition was published in 1998 and some of the requirements and recommendations set forth at that time are no longer relevant or appropriate. The eleventh revised edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine … [provides a] …thorough and current evaluation of the literature on the energy and nutrient requirements of swine in all stages of life, … information about feed ingredients from the biofuels industry and other new ingredients, requirements for digestible phosphorus and concentrations of it in feed ingredients, a review of the effects of feed additives and feed processing, and strategies to increase nutrient retention and thus reduce fecal and urinary excretions that could contribute to environmental pollution. The tables of feed ingredient composition are significantly updated.”

2005 (2nd ed.) National Research Council. “ Excess minerals in the diet and water of animals can have an adverse effect on animal health, consumers, and the environment. Preventing unsafe mineral exposure is a fundamental part of animal nutrition and management. At the request of the Food and Drug Administration, the National Academies convened a committee to make recommendations on animal tolerances and toxic dietary levels, updating a 1980 report on mineral tolerance in domestic animals. Based on a review of current scientific data and information, the report sets a "maximum tolerable level" (MTL) for each mineral as it applies to the diets of farm animals, poultry, and fish. The report includes an analysis of the effects of toxic levels in animal diets, and it identifies elements that pose potential human health concerns. The report recommends research that includes a better characterization of animal exposure to minerals through feedstuffs; a better understanding of the relationship between mineral concentrations in feed and water and the levels in consumer products such as meat, milk, and eggs; and more research on the maximum tolerable level of minerals for aquatic and companion animals.”

2013. Paul A. Rees. “This dictionary is intended as a guide to the terminology used in a wide range of animal-related programmes of study including agriculture, animal care, animal management, animal production, animal welfare, veterinary nursing, wildlife conservation and zoo biology. In total it contains over 5,300 entries. It contains a wide range of terms used in the fields of veterinary science, physiology and zoology, as students whose primary interests are animal welfare or zoo biology also need to have some understanding of disease, how animal bodies function and how animals are classified. It also contains some legal terms, and reference to some legal cases, to help students understand how the protection, use and conservation of animals is regulated by the law.”

2018 (Online copy of 1983 version). Miloslav Rechcigl. “ This volume, relating to agriculture supplements, covers various food byproducts and nutritional and other food supplements used in animal feeding. In addition, it also includes information on nutrition supplements for plants.”

2004. M.F. Fuller. This work “covers the whole of nutrition, embracing a wide range of disciplines, including physiology, biochemistry, veterinary medicine and feed technology. It provides information on the nutrition of every type farm animal found in both developing and developed countries, including birds and fish. Contents include: basic aspects of digestion and metabolism; energy, protein, minerals and vitamins; feed intake; common feeds; feed processing; deficiency diseases and nutritional disorders." "The encyclopedia contains approximately 2000 entries, contributed by 95 international authors.”