ANS 134: Animal Nutrition Laboratory

The majority of animal nutrition-related materials can be found in Shields Library. UC Davis has one separate health sciences library and one life sciences collection in the Shields Library (Biological & Agricultural Sciences). Important nutritional information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.

Life Science collections (except Clinical Human Nutrition) are located in the Shields Library stacks. Animal-related print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Please refer to the Shields Library floor maps.

• Blaisdell Medical Library, Medical Education Building, UC Davis Medical Center
• Government Information Collection (Shields Library)  —  The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform, and electronic formats. The UCD Library collects extensively from major international, and intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment, and ecology are areas of strength. The UCD Library collects comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the UC Library Search. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes and assistance from reference librarians.

*Please note

The Carlson Health Sciences Library (HSL) closed in June 2022 and the collections are being transferred to various locations: Shields Library 3rd floor, Blaisdell Medical Library (clinical medical materials) and Northern Regional (UC) Library (Storage) Facility in Richmond.  Materials currently located in Temporary Storage (at the old HSL) may be requested for checkout at Shields or for digitization.  NOTE: The Carlson Health Sciences library housed materials to support VetMed which are classed in the SF area.  This is the only VetMed library collection in the UC system.