Getting Started
FACULTY: Yanhong Liu — yahliu@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant literature on domesticated animal nutrition.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating animal nutrition literature.
Please note:
Comprehensive literature searching in animal nutrition areas requires consulting a variety of resources which are comprehensively listed in the Databases section below. Since animal-related literature crosses many disciplines, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
Librarian Instructors for ANS 134, Winter Quarters - Appointment information
- For Literature Searching Assistance: contact either Ruth Gustafson or Erik Fausak
- For SciWheel Assistance: contact Melinda Livas
Please fill out our Library Survey !
Key Resources for ANS 134
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present]
The Nutrient Requirements of … (swine, beef cattle, horses etc.) handbook series by the U.S. National Research Council is an excellent resource for basic nutritional requirements of your animal. These titles are updated every 10-20 years by experts in the respective animal nutrition area.
- Nutrient Requirements of Swine2012 (11th ed.) National Research Council. “Since 1944, the National Research Council has published 10 editions of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine. … The swine industry has undergone considerable changes since the tenth edition was published in 1998 and some of the requirements and recommendations set forth at that time are no longer relevant or appropriate. The eleventh revised edition of the Nutrient Requirements of Swine … [provides a] …thorough and current evaluation of the literature on the energy and nutrient requirements of swine in all stages of life, … information about feed ingredients from the biofuels industry and other new ingredients, requirements for digestible phosphorus and concentrations of it in feed ingredients, a review of the effects of feed additives and feed processing, and strategies to increase nutrient retention and thus reduce fecal and urinary excretions that could contribute to environmental pollution. The tables of feed ingredient composition are significantly updated.”