“Get it at UC”: How to Access a Publication
"Get it at UC" Button
Databases provide a description of articles and other publications to help you find what you need by searching through the indexed literature within the database. Most databases include, as part of the item record, the “Get it at UC” button. Clicking this button will direct you to options to locate this publication.
-
NOTE: Because of the complexity of how Technical Reports are organized and often found as part of a series, the 'Get it at UC' link may not provide a direct link to a specific technical report. See the Technical Reports Primer for more information on locating Technical Reports.
Interlibrary Loan Request
If we do not own a technical report, you can submit an interlibrary loan (ILL) request to have the item (e)mailed to you for free from another UC library or beyond. Learn more about how to request books or articles.
Finding Technical Reports
- National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new windowGovernment-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to digitized reports published by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS), Department of Commerce. Search more than 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
[Coverage: 1964-present] - TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library This link opens in a new windowSeach U.S. government technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976 and digitized by TRAIL member libraries. Digitized series include Atomic Energy Commission, NACA, Bureau of Mines Bulletins, and NBS publications.
Subject-specific Databases indexing Technical Reports:
- AGRIS - International System for Agricultural Science and Technology This link opens in a new windowThe Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations maintains an international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology that produces the AGRIS and CARIS databases. AGRIS indexes world literature collected from AGRIS resource centers in over 100 countries worldwide. AGRIS covers all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature not available through normal publication and distribution channels, such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers and government publications. AGRIS indexes FAO sales publications and documents, including main documents and project reports. Use the Search Assistant for advanced searching by filed (title, author, etc.) and by date.
[Coverage: 1975-present] - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library This link opens in a new windowFull text technical documents published by the ASABE, including ASABE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASABE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings. Formerly known as American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE).
[Coverage: varies by title, 1958-present] - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
UCD's most important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1971-present; varies by subfile,earlier for selected core titles] - Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new windowMerged content from thirteen databases including records from the now ceased database Aquatic Biology, Aquaculture, & Fisheries Resources (ABAFR), and from FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations (ABC), the Fishing Industry Research Index (FIRI), Fisheries Review, and a database from the Worldfish Center's Library. Database producer from South Africa -- excellent coverage of African publications.
[Coverage: 1971-present] - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Subject coverage areas include: areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology. - IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowIndustry research reports and profiles for hundreds of United States industries. Includes US Industry Reports (NAICS), US Industry iExpert Summaries, US Specialized Industry Reports, US Specialized Industry iExpert Summaries, and US Business Environment Profiles.
- Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) This link opens in a new windowThis database covers over 600 journals, as well as books & conference proceedings, on meteorology, climatology, air pollution, astrophysics, atmospheric chemistry & physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and weather forecasting, from 1950s to present.
[Coverage: 1974-present] - Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new windowOrganizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish water environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications.
[Coverage: 1981-present]
Specific Government Agency Technical Report Collections
- Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) is a central resource for the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) This link opens in a new windowSearch NASA reports, NACA documents and selected non-NASA archives in the fields of aeronautics, space science, chemistry and materials, engineering, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics and computer sciences, and physics. Provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. Includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
[Coverage: 1917-present]
- Quick Search - ASSIST - Defense Standardization ProgramASSIST stands for “Acquisition Streamlining and Standardization Information System”. Quick Search ASSIST “is a public website that lets users search for defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, MS detail drawings, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), and related technical documents prepared in accordance with the policies and procedures of the Defense Standardization Program (DSP). In most cases, users may download documents that have been cleared for public release. Metadata and files for indexed documents are drawn from ASSIST (https://assist.dla.mil). Both ASSIST and Quick Search are updated during a nightly process that runs each business day. QPL data is drawn from the Qualified Products Database, which is also updated each business day.“
- USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new windowThe USGS Publications Warehouse contains: Full text and maps for over 40,000 USGS publications, citations for over 70,000 USGS publications, and USGS numbered series from as early as 1880. Biological series released by the Fish and Wildlife Service and National Biological Survey prior to creation of the Biological Resources Division in USGS are included in this database. Non-USGS series publications authored by USGS employees are currently NOT included.
[Coverage: 1880-present]
- National Forest Service LibraryThe National Forest Service Library provides information services for Forest Service employees, including: electronic journals, databases (including Web of Science), literature searches, interlibrary loan services, and an archive of Forest Service historical literature.
Coverage: 1800-Present
- Development Experience Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowThe DEXS database provides access to records for over 115,000 USAID technical and program documents with over 11,000 available for electronic download. Includes project descriptions from 1946.
- National Digital Library (US Fish & Wildlife Service) This link opens in a new windowFree online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.
- Document Library (California Department of Fish and Wildlife) This link opens in a new windowThe California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. "Browse By Category" is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program's web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on "California Wildlife Habitat Relationships". NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish adn Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013.
Recommended Multidisciplinary Databases
- Science.govGateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- OSTI.GOV This link opens in a new windowOSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Contains DOE and its predecessors journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; technical reports; patents; conference and workshop papers; and more. OSTI.GOV has replaced SciTech Connect as the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research results. It provides access to all the information previously available in SciTech Connect, DOE Information Bridge, and Energy Citations Database.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowOCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
[Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present] - Internet Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes large online collections of moving images, music and audio recordings. Many digitization projects of large technical reports collections have been conducted by Internet Archive.