Soil Science

2008 (Revised ed.) Published by the Soil Science Society of America (SSSA), this glossary includes more than “1800 terms … Subject matter includes soil physics, soil chemistry, soil biology and biochemistry, pedology, soil and water management and conservation, forest and range soils, nutrient management and soil and plant analysis, mineralogy, wetland soils, and soils and environmental quality. Two appendices on tabular information and designations for soil horizons and layers also are included.”

2016 Third edition. Edited by Rattan Lal. This three-volume globally-focused set addresses “ a multitude of soil and soil management concerns … [and] describes every branch of soil science … [for] Soil Scientists, Crop Scientists, Plant Scientists and More. A host of contributors …[focus on] underlying themes relevant to natural and agricultural ecosystems … [including] topics … [such as] soil degradation, climate change, soil carbon sequestration, food and nutritional security, hidden hunger, water quality, non-point source pollution, micronutrients, and elemental transformations."

2020 edition. Edited by RIchard W. Hazlett. This work “presents an authoritative overview of the role and impacts of agriculture on the natural and human environments, from its origins historically to current praxis and outlooks. Major themes include: global and regional environmental change and the evolution of agriculture, historical styles of agriculture, research needs in agriculture, famine, agricultural pollutants, and the future of agriculture.”

2012 (2nd ed.) P.M. Huang et al. Book 1 includes:
pt. 1. Soil physics -- pt. 2. Soil chemistry -- pt. 3. Soil mineralogy -- pt. 4. Soil biology and biochemistry : soil biology in its second golden age -- pt. 5. Pedology.

2012. P.M. Huang et al. Book 2 includes: pt. 1. Soil physical, chemical, and biological interfacial interactions -- pt. 2. Soil fertility and plant nutrition -- pt. 3. Interdisciplinary aspects of soil science -- pt. 4. Soil databases.

Produced by the National Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) of the USDA, the “online Soil Biology Primer is an introduction to the living component of soil and how it contributes to agricultural productivity and air and water quality.“

Produced by the NRCS/USDA, the “Official Soil Series Descriptions (OSD) is a national collection of more than 20,000 detailed soil series descriptions. These descriptions, in a text format, serve as a national standard.”

Produced by the NCRS/USDA, the “Keys to Soil Taxonomy provides the taxonomic keys necessary for the classification of soils in a form that can be used easily in the field. It also acquaints users of soil taxonomy with recent changes in the classification system.”

Produced by NCRS/USDA, the “ Field Book summarizes the present science and art of describing and documenting soils and soilscapes in the USA. … The Field Book includes key descriptors, conventions, and concepts from soil science and geomorphology to facilitate field observations and soil documentation. The Field Book also aids in understanding soil descriptions and data found in soil surveys, dissertations, research papers, and general soil publications.”

Agriculture handbook numbers 1-<726>; 1950 to present. Continuously updating index to USDA Agriculture Handbooks series based on contents of original 1992 print title with capability to search by USDA Agriculture Handbooks' titles, series' document numbers, or subject matter and links to selected full-text USDA Agriculture Handbooks on the Internet.