Key Resources for Soil Science
This soil science guide includes resources to locate extensive literature from across soil science including: soil types, soil formation, colloids of the soil, soil as water reservoir, soil aeration/drainage, soil temperature, soil organisms and organic matter, nitrogen cycle, soil minerals, soil acidity/alkalinity, soil trace elements, soil erosion, and soil engineering.
Below are key resources to get you started in locating Soil Science literature and its related fields.
Please note:
Comprehensive searching in Soil Science requires consulting a variety of resources which are listed in the Databases section below. Since soil science is comprised of many distinct areas, you should also explore Related Subject Guides.
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - GeoRef This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Subject coverage areas include: areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology. - American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library This link opens in a new windowFull text technical documents published by the ASABE, including ASABE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASABE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings. Formerly known as American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE).
[Coverage: varies by title, 1958-present]
