Research Guides: Library Resources for UC Davis Employees: News Sources

News Sources

Local

Davis Enterprise
Search and retrieve full text of the Davis Enterprise from August 1997 forwards. Excludes advertisements and graphics.
[Coverage: August 1997-present]

Sacramento Bee
Search and retrieve full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1985 through the previous day. Excludes advertisements and graphics.
[Coverage: 1985-present]

California

Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
Current full-text content of the Los Angeles Times.
[Coverage: 1985-present]
San Francisco Chronicle, Digital Edition
Digital edition of San Francisco Chronicle daily newspaper.

California Newspapers
Search California Newspapers in NewsBank’s “America’s Newspapers” database. Search more than 100 California titles, or search a smaller set of Northern California papers under “Local Papers.” Among the California newspapers included are: Davis Enterprise (1997-), Fresno Bee (1986-current), Modesto Bee (1989-current), Orange County Register (1987- current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), San Jose Mercury News (1985-current) and San Diego Union-Tribune (2000-current).

National

NYTimes.com
Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Includes archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access to the archives is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note: First time users must create a NYT account to gain access; accounts will need to be reactivated on an annual basis.
- Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN)
- Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of California, Davis – Davis, CA.”
- Step 3: Click “Create Account” and complete the registration fields
If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, go through Steps 1 and 2 and then click the “Already have an account? Log in here” link (below the “Create Account” button) in Step 3. Mobile login setup, download any NYT app from the App Store and use same login credentials for unlimited access. Login to NYTimes.com directly from any location.
[Coverage: 1851-present]
Here’s what you’ll get through our campus subscription:
- Access to most New York Times and International New York Times content — including news, reviews, opinion, blogs, videos and more — with no monthly limit on the number of stories you can read
- Access content on the NYT mobile app (download it from https://help.nytimes.com/hc/en-us/sections/115003859548-Apps after creating your account)
- Email newsletters and custom alerts delivered to your inbox
- Access to nytimes.com/edu, the Times’ higher education website, including resources curated by area of study
- Historical coverage — full access to articles published from 1851 through 1922, and from 1981 to today (Note: The Times limits individual users to five articles per day from the years 1923-1980.)
- Select crosswords from the archives (the Crossword app is a separate product, but a few crosswords from the archives are available here)

Washington Post (1987- )
Current full-text content of the Washington Post.
[Coverage: 1987-present]

Economist (Current)
Subscription to the weekly magazine back to 1997 and full access to interactive features, special reports, the Economist app (for Android and iOS), the Economist audio version and podcasts, and the Economist digital newsletters. Access for UC Davis patrons is provided using your ucdavis.edu email domain, that means users need to visit economist.com and create individual accounts with their xxx@ucdavis.edu email addresses.
Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is a source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty, researchers, staff and administrators.
[Coverage: 1989 - present]

International

Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. The Davis Enterprise is among a selection of California papers. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Direct link to Davis Enterprise, 1997-on
Check Library Search for earlier coverage.