Music
Streaming Audio
- Naxos Music Library: Classical This link opens in a new windowStreamed recordings of primarily classical music with new content added regularly. This reference source include news, reviews, and biographical text. Access includes apps and social media. [1400- present]
- Naxos Music Library: Jazz This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library Jazz offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from over 1,900 albums. Over 500 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. New content is added regularly.
- Naxos Music Library: World This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library - World offers a wide range of content, from legendary historical performances to contemporary world music featuring recordings of over 32,000 artists. The complete catalogues of important world music labels such as the ARC and Smithsonian Folkways are on the platform, along with thousands of titles from over 350 other labels. New titles are added weekly. NML World covers music from over 150 countries and 1,500 cultural groups.
Audio Archives
- UCSB Cylinder Audio ArchiveThe UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the Grammy Foundation, and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the UCSB Library. To bring these recordings to a wider audience, the Library makes them available to download or stream online for free.
This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.
The website also includes the Library’s collection of more than 650 Vernacular Wax Cylinder Recordings, which in 2015 were selected to be part of the Library of Congress’ National Recording Registry. These personal recordings, also known as home wax recordings, were made by everyday people at home, not by record companies or field researchers, and capture the early spirit of the public’s interaction with recording technology.
- Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new windowGlobal collection of hundreds of audio field recordings, with videos, photographs and field notes from over 50 ethnomusicological collections. Materials document musical traditions worldwide, from the Yoruba in Africa to hip hop in Brooklyn, from Guatemala's indigenous peoples to Javanese of Indonesia. Formats include audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence, ephemera and a unique 'musical instrument map' feature. Supports study of cultural identity, social norms, religion and ritual, gender roles, as well as other themes. Features content from the UCLA Ethnomusicology Archive and University of Washington.
Music Dictionaries
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Music Online consists of three resources in music: The Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music. They can be searched alone or together.
